The Delhi DareDevils team included ferocious hitters like Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer for this IPL. The franchise retained Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer who were known for thunderous shots. This duo is looking for a strengthened international career by performing well in the Indian premier league. Gambhir scored 4,132 runs in IPL with a strike rate above 120. He is the fourth highest scorer in the IPL.Delhi-DaredevilsThe team is known for impressive performance since the inception of IPL.  Records show that they stood semi-finalists in the initial editions twice but failed to keep the form in later seasons. Let us have a look at the team’s positions in the IPL editions so far.

Year Captain Position
2008 Virender Sehwag Semi-finalist
2009 Virender Sehwag Semi-finalist
2010 Gautam Gambhir 5th
2011 Virender Sehwag 10th
2012 Virender Sehwag Third
2013 Mahela Jayawardene 9th
2014 Dinesh Karthik/Kevin Petersen 8th
2015 JP Duminy 7th
2016 Zahir Khan 6th
2017 Zahir Khan 6th


Since the three consecutive editions, the team stood in the 6th position twice and this was their best place since 2015. Gautam Gambhir is expected to put the performance of the team on the track as he did for KKR. This local led opted to play for Delhi DareDevils after a long journey with KKR.

Coming to the preview of the team for IPL 2018, apart from Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris, and Shreyas Iyer, strong contenders like Jason Roy, Naman Ojha, Glenn Maxwell and Abhishek Sharma can be entrusted for a strong batting line-up. Daniel Christian, who has the strike rate above 135 in T20s can be a spearhead in the batting department under the guidance of Ricky Ponting, Pravin Amre, and Sreedharan Sriram.  Along with tremendous batting line up, Manjot Kalra, Rishabh Pant, and Gautam Gambhir were famous for their lightning performances that led the team towards victory in the crucial games.

This year, the team included strong spin bowlers like Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewat, and Amit Mishra in addition to Gurkeerat Mann and Sandeep Lamicchane. They had a good number of wickets under their belt but Amit Mishra stood as the highest wicket-taker for the team.

Experts say that the team is strong on paper but have to overcome some dangerous threats. If Mohammed Shami misses out the tournament, they have to look for a perfect substitute. Kagiso Rabada was not a good IPL bowler as well. In this case, Vijay Shankar may be a strong weapon for the team by his all-round performance. Boult, Morris, Sayan Ghosh, and Avesh Khan may form a strong line-up but Gambhir’s men have to overcome the bitter memories of history to sail towards their maiden title.

Gautam Gambhir is one of the most successful skippers for the KKR franchise. Though the Delhi DareDevils team did not do well in the past seasons, the team may have equal opportunities this year due to the return of Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings. To maintain the overseas-local ratio of players, the team may include Nadeem instead of Lamicchane.

Likely playing XI

Gautam Gambhir(captain), Rishabh Pant(wicket-keeper), Colin Munro, Glenn Maxwell, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Shreyas Iyer, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem, and Amit Mishra.

Delhi DareDevils Squad

Gautam Gambhir, Gurkeerat Mann, Rishabh Pant, Colin Munro, Glenn Maxwell, Jason Roy, Prithwi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Daniel Christian, Sandeep Lamicchane, Sayan Ghosh,Avesh Khan, Harsha Patel, and Daniel Christian.