Kings XI Punjab Ends Chennai’s Winning Streak


The KXIP team has become another team to register a surprising win in the IPL2018. MS Dhoni’s unbeaten 79 stood futile to cruise the CSK towards another victory and continue the saga of victories in this season. In Bindra Stadium, Mohali, the KXIP registered their second victory in the IPL in a nail-biting match yesterday.Kings XI Punjab Ends Chennai’s Winning Streak Dhoni’s knock led the team to the edges of victory but Mohit Sharma’s spell in the death overs guided the KXIP to a 4-run win on their home ground. Earlier, the 96-run partnership by Chris Gayle and KL Rahul for the opening wicket led the KXIP towards a decent score.

To chase the score of 198, the CSK made some changes in their batting line-up by sending Shane Watson and Murali Vijay to open the game and Ambati Rayudu was sent to bat at No.3 instead of opening the game for the side. But Shane Watson could not continue his flow of runs as he did against KKR and departed earlier. Mohit Sharma picked the wicket of Mohit Sharma. Murali Vijay hit a six in the spell of Barinder Sran, but could not stand longer. He fell to Andrew Tye.

Sam Billings, the hero of the previous match fell prey to Ravichandran Ashwin. He was dismissed lbw. On the other hand, Ambati Rayudu tried to make a good stand with Dhoni and managed to score 49 runs. Within a while, he was run out while looking for another single. Ravindra Jadeja, who came into the crease to replace Dwayne Bravo in the middle-order scored 19 out of 13 balls to support skipper Dhoni, who was suffering a back issue.

But Dhoni played with a good timing reminding us the match-winning innings in the final match of world cup 2011. Dhoni sweated hard to lead the run rate to 14 runs per over and at an instance, 15 runs per over along with Ravindra Jadeja. But his poor fitness paved the way for KXIP’s victory, as Mohit Sharma’s wide Yorkers succeeded to trouble him in the death overs. However, Dhoni slammed Andrew Tye to make his 18th IPL fifty.

Dhoni could not afford to make the stand due to Mohit Sharma’s attack when the team needed 17 runs off 6 balls in the final over and CSK lost the match by 4 runs.

Match summary

Kings XI Punjab 197/7 in 20 overs, Chris Gayle 63, KL Rahul 37, Mayank Agarwal 30, Karun Nair 29, Imran Tahir 2/34, Dwayne Bravo 1/37

Chennai Super Kings 193/5 in 20 overs, MS Dhoni 79*, Ambati Rayudu 49, Ravindra Jadeja 19, Andrew Tye 2/47, Ashwin 1/32

Kings XI Punjab won by 4 runs.