Mumbai Registers It’s First Win In IPL This Season


Rohit Sharma’s men recorded their first victory in the IPL 2018 against Royal Challengers Bangalore on 17th April 2018 by 46 runs in the 14th game. The Mumbai Indians batted first and Rohit Sharma slammed  94 off 52 balls though his team lost two early wickets. The Mumbai Indians managed to score 213 runs by losing 6 wickets.Battles To Look Out For IN Today’s IPL MI Vs RCB Match

As a reply, Virat Kohli made an unbeaten 92 single-handedly but could not make up to the cause. He is the highest scorer from his side.

The Mumbai Indians lost two wickets in the early overs of Power Play and Rohit Sharma came into the crease to face hat-trick ball of Umesh Yadav. The duo of Evin Lewis and Rohit Sharma made the partnership of 108 runs. Rohit fell to the penultimate ball of the innings, 6 runs short of a mighty century.

He surpassed the record of 174 sixes by Suresh Raina. He hit 5 sixes in the game to make a total 179 sixes.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore made a good start and scored 40 runs off first 4 overs. But Kohli did not get a good stand to support him. In the fifth over, Mitchell Mc Clenaghan dismissed two Proteas batsmen, AB DeVilliers and Quinton De Kock. Krunal Pandya continued his attack and he picked wickets of Corey Anderson and Mandeep Singh. Then he dismissed Washington Sundar.

Kohli fought with a lone hand but lacked support, unfortunately. He surpassed the record of Suresh Raina’s score of 4,588 in his IPL career. With his 49runs in the game, he became the first cricketer to score 5000 T20 runs for a single team. Quinton De Kock is the second highest scorer for RCB with 19 runs. The Mumbai Indians had to face another set back by injury. The keeper Ishan Kishan was hit by a delivery in the spell of Hardik Pandya. Aditya Tare replaced him as the substitute keeper.

Match summary:

Mumbai Indians 213/6 in 20 overs, Rohit Sharma 94 off 52 balls, Evin Lewis 65(42), Umesh Yadav 2/36

Won by 46 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore 167/8 in 20 overs, Virat Kohli 92*, Jasprit Bumrah 2/28, Krunal Pandya 3/28, Mc Clenaghan 2/24.