Delhi DareDevils Face Another Blow, Kings XI Punjab Wins By 4 Runs


Chasing 144 runs off 20 overs, the hard work of Shreyas Iyer did not make the case to guide the Delhi DareDevils to the most wanted victory in the 22nd game of IPL at Feroz Shah Kotla.kings-xi-punjab-ipl_806x605_81524507743

Though the bowlers managed to restrict KXIP for 143 runs for the loss of 8 wickets and batsmen tried hard to chase an easy target, fall of wickets at regular intervals caused another defeat of Delhi DareDevils. The KXIP registered their fifth victory out of six games to top the points table.

Delhi DareDevils did not make a good start. Opener Prithvi Shaw departed for 22 runs and Gambhir also got dismissed for a low score. Shreyas Iyer and Rahul Tewatia made a good stand though they lost Glenn Maxwell and Rishabh Pant earlier. Rishabh Pant fell to Ashwin at the score of 4 runs. Andrew Tye picked the wicket of Gambhir and Rajpoot dismissed Prithvi Shaw. He made his debut in this game and scored 22 runs off 10 balls.

Shreyas Iyer and Daniel Christian seemed to make a good stand and the team’s score was 76-5 when Daniel Christian got dismissed and Tewatia helped Iyer to make the Delhi team’s innings reach the death overs. Andrew Tye picked the wicket of Tewatia and snatched the purple cap away from Boult. Barinder Sran seemed ineffective as a bowler in the beginning but turned the innings to their side by conceding only 4 runs from a single over. He dismissed Plunkett for a golden duck as well.

In the final over, the Delhi DareDevils needed 17 runs off 6 balls. Shreyas Iyer managed to drag the score for a position of requiring 5 runs for a single ball by hitting one boundary and a six from the single over. For the ultimate ball of the game, he fell to Mujeeb Ur Rahman unfortunately. Though Shreyas Iyer fought till the end, he lacked a good hand.

With the 3-wicket haul of Plunkett, though the visitors missed out Chris Gayle earlier, they managed to score 143 for the loss of 8 wickets from 20 overs.

Match summary

Kings XI Punjab 143/8 in 20 overs

KL Rahul 23, Mayank Agarwal 21, Karun Nair 34, Liam Plunkett 3/17, Avesh Khan 2/36, Trent Boult 2/21, Daniel Christian 1/17

Delhi DareDevils 139/8 in 20 overs

Shreyas Iyer 57, Rahul Tewatia 24, Ankit Rajpoot 2/23, Andrew Tye 2/25, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 2/25

Kings XI Punjab beat Delhi DareDevils by 4 runs

Ankit Rajpoot was named the player of the match.