Delhi DareDevils avenged their defeat against KKR at Eden Gardens by slamming them to win by 55 runs in their home game at Feroz Shah Kotla. It is a fairytale comeback after the resignation of Gautam Gambhir. Shreyas Iyer gifted the first home game victory marking his entry as the skipper.Delhi DareDevils Made A Fabulous Comeback Against KKRWith the contributions of Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, and Colin Munro, the team managed to make a whopping score of 219/4. Shreyas Iyer made an unbeaten score of 93 runs and Prithvi Shaw scored 62 runs. Colin Munro managed to add 33 runs.

Kolkata Knight Riders came to chase 220 runs as a reply. Chris Lynn departed earlier and Sunil Narine seemed to make an impact but departed at the score of 26 runs off 9 balls. Chris Lynn fell for Maxwell and Trent Boult succeeded to dismiss Sunil Narine. Robin Uthappa also fell prey to Trent Boult. Thus, this New Zealand bowler managed to bag purple cap. Nitish Rana and skipper Karthik managed to score 26 runs but could not continue the stand.

Then came Russell, when the KKR’s score was 77/5. He managed to thrash the opponents from 9th over to 15th over by hitting beautiful boundaries and sixes and managed to score 44 runs. Shubhman Gill joined Russell to rebuild the innings by scoring 37 runs. But by unfortunate run-out of Gill, Russell lost a good hand. Earlier, he thrashed Avesh Khan, Rahul Tewatia, and Trent Boult. Gill fell prey to a run-out during the spell of Amit Mishra.

Later Russell was joined by Shivam Mavi and he was dismissed on a duck. All the other batsmen fell prey to the opponents like a pile and in the 15th over Russell fell to Amit Mishra. It would be good for KKR if they called Russell earlier in the batting order. The Kolkata Knight Riders ended their innings for 160 runs off 20 overs by losing 9 wickets. Earlier, Shivam Mavi conceded 29 runs from the last over which is a huge blow for the KKR.

Match summary:

Delhi DareDevils  219/4 in 20 overs, Shreyas Iyer 93*, Colin Munro 33, Prithvi Shaw 62, Piyush Chawla 1/33, Andre Russell 1/28 beat Kolkata Knight Riders 160/9 in 20 overs, Shubhman Gill 37, Andre Russell 44, Sunil Narine 26, Amit Mishra 2/23, Avesh Khan 2/29.

Shreyas Iyer was named the player of the match.

This victory may be a bounce back for the Delhi DareDevils but the former skipper Gambhir was benched for this match. This is the point of a big debate indeed.

Published by Deeksha Gogia

Hello, This is Deeksha & I am Author here at Cricgully. I will be covering Indian Cricket Team News & Updates.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.