The IPL auction 2018, commenced at Bangalore a while ago is probably the biggest all-time auction.  This event stood as an exciting one as the franchises Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals are about to come back after a two-year break due to spot-fixing allegations.


This auction is expected to be a financial jackpot as the IPL entered into a new broadcast partnership with the Star network and the sponsorers for this season is Vivo.

Most of the experts and people are surprised to see the famous players Chris Gayle and James Faulkner are unsold till now and for our surprise, the 19-year-old Afganistan player Rashid Khan was bought by the SunRisers Hyderabad team for Rs.9 crore.

Some of the glimpses of IPL auction till now are, CSK retained Woakes and sold out Ravichandran Ashwin though Ashwin showed a spectacular performance in the previous seasons. McCullum plays for team RCB for the current season also. Another key feature of this auction is right to match option for the franchises that helps to retain their old players.

Let us look at the list of players and prices in rupees sold out till now:


  1. MS Dhoni(Captain, retained player)-15 cr
  2. Ravindra Jadeja(retained)-7cr
  3. Suresh Raina(retained)-11 cr
  4. Shane Watson-4 cr
  5. Faf Deu Plessis(Right to match)-1.6 cr
  6. Ambati Rayudu-2.2 cr
  7. Kedar Jadhav-7.8 cr


  1. Virat Kohli(retained, captain)-17cr
  2. Sarfaraz Khan(retained)-1.75cr
  3. 3.AB DeVillers(retained)-11 cr
  4. 4.Brendon McCullum-3.6 cr
  5. Quinton De Cock-2.8cr
  6. Moeen Ali-1.7cr
  7. Colin Grandhomme- 2.3 cr


  1. Andre Russel(retained)-7cr
  2. Suneel Narraine(retained)-8.5cr
  3. Chriss Lynn-9.6cr
  4. Mitchell Starc-9.4cr
  5. Robin Uthappa-6.4cr(right to match)
  6. Dinesh Karthick-7.4 cr


1.Yuvraj Singh-2cr

2.Axar Patel(retained)-6.75cr

3.Ravichandran Ashwin-7.6cr.

4.KL Rahul-11cr

5.Karun Nair-5.6cr

6.David Miller-3cr(right to match)

7.Marcus Stoinis-6.2cr(right to match)

8.Aaron Finch-6.2 cr


1. Steve Smith- 12 cr( retained)

2. Ajinkya Rahane- 4 cr(right to match)

3. Ben Stokes- 12.5 cr

4. Stuart Binny- 50 lakh

5. Sanju Samson- 8 cr

6. Jos Buttler- 4.4 cr


  1. David Warner(retained)-12cr
  2. Shikhar Dhawan(right to match)-5.2cr
  3. Bhuwaneswar Kumar(retained)-8.5cr
  4. Manish Pandey-11 cr
  5. Shakib Alhasan- 2 cr
  6. Yusuf Pathan- 1.9cr
  7. Wriddhiman Saha-5cr
  8. Carlos Braithwaite- 2cr


  1. Kierrun Pollard(retained)-5.4Cr
  2. Jasprit Bumarah(retained)-7cr
  3. Hardik Pandya(retained)-11cr
  4. Mustafizur Rahman-2.2cr
  5. Rohith Sharma(retained)-15cr


1.Chris Morris (retained)-7.1cr

2.Shreyas Iyer(retained)- 7cr

3.Rishabh Panth(retained)- 8cr

4.Glenn Maxwell-9cr

5.Gautam Gambhir-2.8cr

6.Colin Munro-1.9cr

7.Jason Roy-1.5cr

Players not sold till now 

  1. Jee Root
  2. Chris Gayle
  3. Hashim Amla
  4. Murali Vijay
  5. James Faulkner
  6. Martin Guptil
  7. Naman Ojha
  8. Sam Billings
  9. Parthiv Patel
  10. James Bairstow
  11. Josh Hazlewood
  12. Mitchell Johnson