The Kings XI Punjab will take on Kolkata Knight Riders at Holkar Stadium, Indore today in the 44th game of IPL 2018 at 4 pm. The Punjab side looks stronger though it has some issues to fix in the regard of the batting order. They have 6 wins and 4 losses in this tournament and KKR has 6 losses and 5 wins in their name. The KKR have to win all the games in the rest of the series to keep their hopes alive to reach the playoffs.Kolkata-Knight-Riders-Kings-XI-Punjab-Match Begins In:

[countdown id=”1423″]

The Punjab team relies on the top order batsmen but their middle order failed drastically in the previous games. The middle order batsmen including Akshdeepnath, Yuvraj Singh, Mayank Agarwal, and Karun Nair failed to play consistently in the previous game. This is the point of worry for the Punjab team. They have a fiery top order with Chris Gayle and KL Rahul. KL Rahul played in the middle-order in most of the occasions but he lacked support in the game against Rajasthan Royals. Another impact batsman for KXIP is all-rounder Andrew Tye. But he did well with the ball in most of the occasions.

The pair of Gayle and Rahul slammed the Kolkata bowlers in the earlier game, the rain-curtailed one at Eden Gardens.

The hosts have a terrific bowling department with Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Zadran, Andrew Tye, and the skipper Ashwin himself. The lack of consistent pacers is another point worrying them.

The KKR has a good batting line-up with openers Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, and Nitish Rana. Chris Lynn is suffering poor form but contributed to the score on some occasions. The team badly needs a win to heal the bruises of the loss against Mumbai Indians earlier.

The bowling department is dependent upon the spin trio, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, and Sunil Narine. They suffer the same issue like the hosts, lack of fiery pace bowlers.  To counter the spin attack of them, KXIP has Axar Patel, Mujeeb ur Rahman, and Ashwin.

The skippers of both the teams belong to the same region, Tamil Nadu. The KKR defeated KXIP to clinch the title for the second time in 2014. But this time, the Punjab team seems more solid when compared to KKR. The KKR has failed to find good replacements for Shivam Mavi and Shubhman Gill.

The KKR won 14 games off 22 games when both the teams locked their horns in the IPL. This game seems to be a fight between the spinners of Kolkata and top-order of Punjab team.

Likely XI

Kings XI Punjab

Ravichandran Ashwin(captain), Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Akshar Patel/Mohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Manoj Tiwary/Yuvraj Singh, Marcus Stoinis/Aaron Finch/David Miller, and Andrew Tye.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Dinesh Karthik(captain), Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Shubhman Gill, Nitish Rana, Shivam Mavi/Prasidh Krishna, Robin Uthappa, Tom Curran, Andre Russell, Kuldeep Yadav, and Piyush Chawla.

Published by Priyanka Gogia

Hello, This is Priyanka Gogia, I am Chief Editor at Wisden Infotech & a cricket lover of-course.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.