Sunrisers Defeat Kolkata To Go To Finals, Rashid Khan Star Performer


The Sunrisers Hyderabad entered the IPL final by the knock of Rashid Khan yesterday by winning over Kolkata Knight Riders by 13 runs. The Kolkata Knight Riders were the hot favorites in the second qualifier as the Sunrisers Hyderabad faced four back to back losses earlier.Sunrisers Defeat Kolkata To Go To Finals, Rashid Khan Star PerformerCarlos Braithwaite had to defend 19 runs off the last over to guide the team towards victory as he did it earlier in the 2016 World Cup T20 final match. Rashid Khan, who bagged the wickets of Chris Lynn, Andre Russell, and Robin Uthappa conceded only 19runs and ran Nitish Rana out. He scored 34 runs off 10balls. He picked two catches in the final over as well. In the chase of 175 runs, the KKR fell short by 13 runs and lost the opportunity to enter the IPL 2018 final.

Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn made a good start for KKR and scored 38 in 3 overs. By the end of 3rd over, SRH scored only 18 runs. Sunil Narine slammed three fours and a six in the third over. He slammed Siddharth Kaul by 26 runs from 13 balls. Chris Lynn played a reluctant role but supported Narine. By the end of Powerplay, KKR scored 67-1.

Rashid Khan began his spell by dismissing Chris Lynn though Saha missed an opportunity to dismiss him earlier. Nitish Rana was run out by the end of 10th over. By the time, the KKR were 93/2.

After 10th over, Robin Uthappa fell to Rashid Khan and Dinesh Kartik lost his wicket to Shakib Al Hasan. Andre Russell was saved from dismissal in the hands of Shakib Al Hasan but fell prey to Rashid Khan. As a result, in five overs, KKR scored 25 runs and lost 4 wickets by the end of 15th over.

Shubhman Gill and Piyush Chawla tried to rebuild the innings and Chawla slammed 30 off 12 balls but fell prey to Siddharth Kaul. Though Siddharth Kaul tried to restrict Shubhman Gill, the youngster tried his best to rebuild the innings. In the last over, both the tail-enders Shivam Mavi and Shubhman Gill failed to hit 15 runs off 5 balls and lost the game to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Earlier, the KKR restricted SRH to 138/7 till 18th over and Rashid Khan and Carlos Braithwaite scored 19 runs off the last over. Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav, and Piyush Chawla picked one wicket each. Prasidh Krishna bowled well but could not pick a wicket.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2018 final.

Match Report

Sunrisers Hyderabad 174/7 in 20 overs, Wriddhiman Saha 35, Shikhar Dhawan 34, Rashid Khan 34*, Kuldeep Yadav  2/29

Kolkata Knight Riders 161/9 in 20 overs, Chris Lynn 48, Shubhmann Gill 30, Siddharth Kaul 2/32, Rashid Khan 3/19 Carlos Braithwaite 2/16

Sunrisers Hyderabad won by 13 runs.

Rashid Khan was named the player of the match.