Selectors Drop Rahane From ODI Squad

Ajinkya Rahane was ruled out of ODI squad of team India. He was named the skipper of the test team. KL Rahul and Siddharth Kaul were included in the ODI team. rahane

Rahane played at No.4 in the series against South Africa and in 2017 Champions Trophy he was not impressive. Kohli declared that he can entrust Rahane for No.4 position in the 2019 World cup. But Rahane did not perform well in the series against South Africa and in IPL he did very less score for Rajasthan Royals.

In the series against South Africa, he made a stand of 79 runs off 86-balls along with Kohli, which led to the team’s victory but he made 11,8,8, and 34* in the rest of the series. On the other hand, Manish Pandey did well in that series in the middle-order. But, he is in poor form at the moment.

Ambati Rayudu, who is doing great for the Chennai Super Kings played his last ODI in 2016. He was included in the ODI team by his performance for CSK in the current IPL season. He is the highest run-getter for the Chennai Super Kings. KL Rahul and Siddharth Kaul were called to play for the ODI team by their performances in the IPL. Siddharth Kaul is an exceptional performer for Sunrisers Hyderabad and picked 16 wickets off 10 games in the previous season and 13 wickets off 10 matches in the current edition.

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin were not included in the ODI team and Washington Sundar, the young off-spinner was called up to replace Axar Patel. Axar Patel is struggling with the poor form. Umesh Yadav retained his position in the team after a long time after the series against Australia in September 2017. He also gained a berth in the T20s. Suresh Raina and Manish Pandey were included to shoulder the middle-order. Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were included for this series. Jayadev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur were ruled out of the team for this series.

ODI squad

Virat Kohli(captain), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Siddharth Kaul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, Shreyas Iyer, Yuzwendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar

T20I squad

Virat Kohli(captain), KL Rahul, Siddharth Kaul, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan,Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni, Washington Sundar, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzwendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, and Siddharth Kaul.