The Chennai Super Kings clinched the IPL title for the third time after winning by 8 wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Shane Watson’s unbeaten 117 made Chennai Super Kings win the game. The team won the title with 9 balls remaining.Chennai Super Kings Reclaims The IPL Title

Watson struggled to settle down earlier but became the formidable hitter in the middle overs. He slammed 11 fours and 8 sixes off 57 balls to score 117 runs. Ambati Rayudu stood at the non-striker end most of the time in this game but finished the game with a classy boundary. Another remarkable score for Chennai Super Kings came from Suresh Raina, who slammed 32runs off 24 balls. He scored three fours and a six which laid the foundation for the winning stand.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad sweated hard to pick wickets. Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar tried to restrict the scores but remained wicket-less by the end.

Earlier, the Sunrisers Hyderabad slammed 178/6 off 20 overs by productive contributions from their batsmen. Kane Williamson stood as the top scorer for the team. Again supported by Shikhar Dhawan, Carlos Braithwaite, Yusuf Pathan, and Shakib Al Hasan, the 51-run stand between Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson stood as the highest partnership in the Sunrisers Hyderabad Innings. By the end of the Powerplays Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 42-1, later they added 84 runs for the second wicket partnership and later they added 52 runs by final over. From Chennai Super Kings, Lungi Ngidi and Deepak Chahar made a good show and all their five bowlers picked one wicket each.

Shane Watson made his fifty off 33 balls and scored 19 runs for 19 balls in the initial overs. He thrashed 27 runs from 13th over in the spell of Sandeep Sharma. He was very expensive in this game. By the time CSK needed a run rate of 9.38 but by his knock, Watson reduced it to 6.86 per over. Kane Williamson scored 18 runs off 19 balls in first overs and later scored 29 runs from 17 balls and thrashed Dwayne Bravo with one six and three fours. Yusuf Pathan scored an unbeaten 45 which is the second highest score for the team. He scored 4 fours and two sixes in his knock of 25 balls. Lungi Ngidi stood as an impressive bowler with one maiden over, one wicket conceding 26 runs. Deepak Chahar also supported him to a great extent.

The Chennai Super Kings managed to score 111 runs in the middle overs.

Brief Scores

Sunrisers Hyderabad 178/6 off 20 overs, Shikhar Dhawan 25, Kane Williamson 48, Yusuf Pathan 45*, Lungi Ngidi 1/26

Chennai Super Kings 181/2 off 18.3 overs, Shane Watson 117*, Suresh Raina 32

Chennai Super Kings won by 8 wickets and bagged IPL 2018 title.

Shane Watson was named the player of the match.

Purple Cap: Andrew Tye (KXIP)

Orange Cap: Kane Williamson(SRH)