Afghanistan Announces Squad For The Debut Test Against India

Afganistan announced 16-player team for debut test match to be played at Bangalore on 14th June 2018 against India.  The Afghanistan cricket board named Asghar Stanikzai as the skipper. Mujeeb Zadran and Rashid Khan are named in the team. Other crucial players of the team are, Mohammed Nabi, Rahmat Shah, and Mohammed Shahzad. These are the impact players in the limited overs format as well.Afghanistan Announces Squad For The Debut Test Against India

Zahir Khan, who suffered injuries earlier was included in the team as one of the four spinners. Syed Sherzad, Wafadar Momand, and Yahim Ahmedzai are the crucial pace bowlers for the team. Ihsanullah Jannah, Rahmat Shah, Javed Ahmadi, Hashmathullah Shahidi, and Nasir Jamal are the strong middle-order players in the first class format.

Earlier, the issue of Virat Kohli missing out the first ever test in the history of Afghanistan was a point of contention for most of the critiques. The BCCI backed the decision of the skipper by stating that the decision is a good one to get habituated for the conditions of England and play well in the upcoming tour.  Kohli decided to play for Surrey in the England County Cricket.

On the other hand, the BCCI announced the 15-man squad for test-match against Afghanistan. Virat Kohli has ruled out this series on account of County cricket but was rested due to a neck injury. With this match, Afghanistan will become the 12th country to play test cricket.

Team compositions


Ajinkya Rahane(captain), Murali Vijay, Ravichandran Ashwin, KL Rahul, Chetteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha(wicket-keeper), Karun Nair, Umesh Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur, and Hardik Pandya.


Asghar Stanikzai, Mujeeb Zadran, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Nabi, Rahmat Shah, Mohammed Shahzad, Zahir Khan, Syed Sherzad, Wafadar Momand, Yahim Ahmedzai, Ihsanullah Jannat, Hasmatullah Shahidi, Nasir Jamal,  Afsar Zazai, Mohammad Nabi,  and Hamzah Hotak.