Kohli Named As Recipient Of Polly Umrigar Award


The BCCI today announced the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award to the Indian Captain Virat Kohli for his achievements in the two consecutive cricket seasons. He slammed 1111 off 101 ODIs and 896 runs at an average of 89.6 in Test matches during the period of 2017-18. He will receive this award on 12th June at Bangalore.virat-kohli-bcci-award

Kohli will receive the awards for the years 2016-17, and 2017-18 among men’s category and Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana will receive the awards for women cricketers. These awards are intended to felicitate the top cricketers in the international and domestic formats across all the age groups.

Along with the above achievements, Kohli registered his highest individual score of 243 runs in the test matches in the year 2016-17. He scored 1847 runs in all the international formats of the game.

Vinod Rai, the COA of BCCI said “I congratulate all the winners of the BCCI Annual Awards. The last two years have been fabulous for Indian Cricket with both the men and women’s teams doing very well. We are proud of their achievements and this is our small way of acknowledging their on-field efforts.”

In addition, the press-release by BCCI read “To honor one of its finest administrators, the BCCI has rechristened four awards in remembrance of Late Jagmohan Dalmiya. The Jagmohan Dalmiya Trophy will be presented to the leading run-scorer and wicket-taker respectively in the U-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy and to the Best Junior and Senior Cricketer in women’s cricket.”

The awards for the best cricket associations were bagged by Cricket Association of Bengal for the year 2016-17, and Delhi Cricket Association for the year 2017-18.

Rahul Johri, the CEO of BCCI said”Every year we have champion players delivering champion performances. Awards help boost a player’s confidence and we only hope that we get more noteworthy performances in the season to follow.”

The prize money witnessed a hike this year. The prize money was increased to Rs.1.5 lakh from Rs.1 Lakh for all the nine categories.