In a breath-taking game against Bangladesh, Afghanistan managed to clinch the 3T20I series at Dehradun with a whitewash, that is, with the lead of 3-0. Rashid Khan, all set to break the formidable partnership of Mahmudullah and Mustafiqur Rahim, had to defend 8 runs in the last over.  However, he succeeded to dismiss Mushfiqur Rahim with the first ball.Afghanistan Marks Historic Series Win Against Bangladesh

Ariful Haque entered the crease after the departure of Mushfiqur Rahim. Surprisingly, Mahmudullah took a single and gave Ariful Haque the chance to strike.

Ariful then hit a single and a brace and Mahmudullah came to strike. He ran for the fifth run for a single ball and Ariful came on to strike again. He tried to hit a four for the last ball. The ball was stopped by Shafiqullah Shafiq. Mohammad Shahzad hit the stumps with the ball and Mahmudullah was run out for the last ball. Thus, Bangladesh ended the innings with 144 runs for the loss of 6 wickets.

Bangladesh made a disappointing start. They lost Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal, and Shakib Al Hasan before the ninth over. Their score was 53/4 by the end of ninth over. Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim made a formidable stand to rebuild the innings and guided the team towards the edges of the victory. Mushfiqur scored 46 runs and Mahmudullah made 45 runs to add 84 runs off 64 balls for the fifth wicket partnership by the end of 19th over.

Bangladesh seemed to reach the banks of victory by 5 consecutive fours hit by Mushfiqur Rahim in the spell of Karim Janat. But his departure became fatal for the defeat of Bangladesh.  Rashid Khan picked 1 wicket conceding 24 runs and he was backed by Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammed Nabi.

Earlier in the first innings, Afghanistan made a solid start with 95/2. But by 13th over, they began to lose consecutive wickets and ended the innings at 145/6 for 20 overs.

Shahzad Ghani(26), Najimullah Zadran(15), Usman Ghani(19),  and Asghar Stanikzai(27) made double-digit scores. Shamiullah Shenwari stood as the highest scorer with unbeaten 33 runs.

Brief Scores

Afghanistan 145/6, Asghar Stanikzai 27 runs, Shamiullah Shenwari 33*, Nazimul Islam 2/18, Abu Zayed 2/27

Bangladesh 144/6, Mahmudullah 45, Mushfiqur Rahim 46, Rashid Khan 1/24, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 1/25

Afghanistan won by 1 run.

Rashid Khan was awarded the Player of the Series award.

Mushfiqur Rahim was named the player of the match.