Names of Retained Players In IPL 2018 Announced By The Franchisees


The much-awaited Players Retention List for VIVO Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 was announced on 04th January 2018. A total of 18 players from the 8 franchises were retained.

Chennai Super Kings:

  1. M.S. Dhoni
  2. Suresh Raina
  3. Ravindra Jadeja

Delhi Daredevils:

  1. Rishabh Pant
  2. Chris Morris
  3. Shreyas Iyer

Kings XI Punjab:

  1. Axar Patel

Kolkata Night Riders:

  1. Sunil Narine
  2. Andre Russell

Mumbai Indians:

  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Hardik Pandya
  3. Jasprit Bumrah

Rajasthan Royals:

  1. Steve Smith

Royal Challengers Bangalore:

  1. Virat Kohli
  2. Ab de Villiers
  3. Sarfaraz Khan

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

  1. David Warner
  2. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The franchises can secure up to 5 players by Player Retention (Pre-player auction) and Right to Match (RTM) (during the play auction). Yet, the maximum retained players by franchisees were three. If a franchise decides to retain three players, a total amount of Rs. 33 crores from its kitty of Rs. 80 crores will be deducted. Similarly, for two players it is Rs. 21 crores and one player it is Rs. 12.5 crores. That explains the franchises’ decision. The table shows players retained by Player Retention Option. The kitty remaining for auction is shown below:

  • CSK: Rs. 47 crores
  • RR: Rs. 67.5 crores
  • KKR: Rs. 59 crores
  • RCB: Rs. 49 crores
  • DD: Rs. 47 crores
  • MI: Rs. 47 crores
  • SRH: Rs. 59 crores
  • KXIP: Rs. 67.5 crores

There were not many surprises on the retention list. After two year suspension, CSK retained its key players MSD, Raina & Jadeja. Mumbai Indians stuck to their Indian core by retaining Sharma, Pandya, and Bumrah. The only surprise was KKR releasing their skipper Gautam Gambhir into the auction ring.

As far as league fee is concerned, Virat Kohli ranks highest at Rs. 17 crores followed by MSD & Rohit Sharma at Rs. 15 crores each. David Warner and Steve Smith follow them at Rs. 12 crores each.

The franchises serving bans i.e. CSK and RR have been allowed to retain players of the last year they played IPL i.e. 2015. These players would be the ones who played for Rising Pune Super Giants and Gujarat Lions in the past two years.

All eyes are now set on the auction to be held on 27th & 28th January in Bengaluru.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *