Team India included three openers KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, and Murali Vijay and rested Kuldeep Yadav for this game. They won the toss and chose to bat against Afghanistan. They selected another pacer Umesh Yadav by leaving out Kuldeep Yadav. Along with Ishant Sharma and Hardik Pandya, he is another pacer included in the team. On the other hand, Karun Nair was not included in the final squad. KL Rahul may play in 4th or 5th position, the favourite position of the captain Rahane.dhawan playing in test against afghanistan

This is the historical game that includes 12th Test playing country, Afghanistan. Afghanistan has recorded negotiable victories in the recent past including the 3 T20I series against Bangladesh a week ago.

The Afghans included only two pacers, Wafadar Momand and Yamin Ahmedzai and a heavy bunch of spinners including Rashid Khan, Mohammed Nabi, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman, along with Rahmat Shah. The batting side includes the skipper Stanikzai, Mohammed Nabi, Mohammed Shahzad seems solid.

Earlier, the captain expressed optimism after winning the series against Bangladesh by whitewashing the series with a lead of 3-0. He expressed utmost confidence on his spinners Rashid Khan, Mohammed Nabi, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman. He said that his spinners are better than India’s.

The excitement in the game was Saleem Durani handed the memento to the skipper Stanikzai. He is the only Afghanistan test cricketer born before today, at Kabul.

Team compositions

India XI

Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteswar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(captain), Dinesh Karthik(wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, and Ravindra Jadeja.

Afghanistan XI

Asghar Stanikzai(captain), Rashid Khan, Mohammed Nabi, Mohammed Shahzad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Hasmatullah Shahidi, Javed Ahmadi, Afsar Zazai, Yamin Ahmadzai, and Wafadar Momand.