ICC included test matches in the comprehensive future tour programme yesterday in a declaration. The World Test championship will begin after the Ashes 2019. The nine top countries will combat to win the test tournament. Each side will play six series in home and away basis. This move was intended to boost the enthusiasm among youngsters towards test cricket. This series will be played between selected opponents in a cycle for two years.Virat-Kohli-with-mace

The five- test series of Ashes will be the first series in 2019 and India, West Indies, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka will compete for the world test series in a 3 test series between India and West Indies and a series between New Zealand and Sri Lanka. The last league game will be played between West Indies and Sri Lanka in April 2021.

Pakistan’s campaign will begin in October 2019 with the tour to Sri Lanka. South Africa will start their campaign with series against India in October 2019 as well. There are no chances for a test series between India and Pakistan on account of the political scenario in the current situation.

Ireland and Afghanistan play test series in the next season and they play 12 test matches between 2019-2023 period. In this context, the ICC CEO Richardson said that “genuine solution that gives fans around the world the chance to engage regularly with international cricket that has meaning and the possibility of a global title at the end”.

Afghanistan will play India and Australia in this campaign and Ireland will take on New Zealand and England. The 12-Test-playing countries and Netherlands will play a 13-country international league that acts as a qualifier for World cup 2023.

The structure of comprehensive future tour programme stated by ICC include

ICC Cricket World Cup — 2019 and 2023
ICC World T20 — 2020 and 2021
World Test Championship
Cycle 1 — 2019-2021 (final 2021)
Cycle 2 — 2021-2023 (final 2023)

The plan excludes all ODIs, T20Is, and bilateral series.

Published by Deeksha Gogia

Hello, This is Deeksha & I am Author here at Cricgully. I will be covering Indian Cricket Team News & Updates.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.