India Beat Ireland By 76 runs in 1st T20I


Despite tough fight by Ireland, India won the first T20I by 76 runs by the bowling attack of Kuldeep Yadav.  James Shannon slammed 60 runs off 35 balls and his first ever half-century in T20Is within 29 balls. He slammed 5 fours and 2 sixes but was dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav in the 12th over. Though the score of 209 runs is a mammoth-like one in T20Is, James Shannon gave his best to give a decent score for the team.india beat ireland in first T20IIreland lost Paul Stirling at the score of 1 run. After his dismissal, Andrew Balbirnie and James Shannon added 40 runs for the third wicket partnership. Andrew Balbirnie was dismissed at the score of 11 runs. At the end of the Powerplays, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzwendra Chahal shouldered the load of picking quick wickets. Jasprit Bumrah dismissed Paul Stirling and Kuldeep Yadav finished his spell with 4/21.

Kuldeep Yadav picked 3/38. Thus, the spin-twins had seven wickets in their share. Jasprit Bumrah picked 2 wickets and conceded 19 runs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar could not pick a wicket and gave 16 runs. Hardik Pandya had an economical spell in this match and had a good support.

In the first innings, Rohit Sharma slammed 97 balls and Shikhar Dhawan scored 74 runs. They made a stand of 160 wickets for opening partnership. Rohit Sharma missed out his third T20I century by 3 runs. From Ireland, Peter Chase had a good spell of 4/35.

India will take on Ireland in the second T20I at Malahide on June 29th. The team is expected to be the same as the first T20I.

Match Summary;

India 208/5 in 20 overs, Rohit Sharma 97, Shikhar Dhawan 74, Peter Chase 4/35

Ireland 132/9 IN 20 overs, James Shannon 60, Kuldeep Yadav 4/21, Yuzwendra Chahal 3/38

India won by 76 runs