Orange cap and purple cap are awarded to top scorers and top wicket-takers in the IPL seasons.  Bhuwaneswar Kumar won the purple cap for taking the highest number of wickets in the previous IPL season. He represented the Sunrisers Hyderabad team at that time.

The focus of these awards will be more with the return of Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings teams after two years into the IPL. Along with title battle that has to go on for 7 weeks, the fight will be head to head for the orange cap and purple cap. Lasith Malinga, Mohith Sharma,  Morne Morkel and Sohail Tanvir are some of the Purple caps in the previous seasons.

Some of the favorites for Purple cap in the current season are

  1. Dwayne Bravo, Chennai Super Kings


Though this Carribean cricketer is not in good form now, his breath-taking performance makes him favourite among the top 5 aspirants of the purple cap in this season. He won the purple cap in 2013 by hitting 32 wickets and in 2015 by taking 26 wickets. He played 90 IPL matches and took 111 wickets. He played for CSK in the earlier seasons and the franchise offered him $1.2 million for the current season.

Though he will not bowl with extreme paces like Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins or Chris Morris, he does well in taking wickets in T20s.

Dwayne Bravo’s line and length are special of the kind.  He is expected to bounce back and make a hat-trick in winning the purple cap in IPL.

  1. Rashid Khan, Sunrisers Hyderabad


This attacking bowler was bought by the Hyderabad franchise for an amount of $1.7 million for this season. He is the highest wicket-taker in the T20 format. He entered this franchise by the right to match rule under heavy competition between Rajasthan Royals, Kings Eleven Punjab, and Mumbai Indians. This 19-year-old cricketer took 80 wickets in T20s last year.

He played well in the last IPL season and got 17 wickets from 14 matches. He won the appraisal of batsmen like Suresh Raina, Aaron Finch, Rohith Sharma and Steve Smith at that time.

This leg-spinner is known for mesmerizing googly, and his economy rate is below 6. He is a good wicket taker and can bowl at any number in the game.

  1. Andrew Tye, Kings Eleven Punjab


He was sold out for $1.4 million in the current auction. This limited over star player for the Australian team entered into the KXIP and he bagged a hat-trick in the last season besides taking 12 wickets in 6 games.

He did well in the BBL 2017/18, playing for Perth Scorchers ad was a dependable player for limited overs series against England on behalf of Australia. His major arm is “knuckleball” and average of wickets for KXIP is 1.5.

  1. Bhuwaneswar Kumar, Sunrisers Hyderabad


Bhuvi led the team to the title victory by his excellent bowling in the previous two IPL seasons. He was the purple cap winner for IPL 2017 and IPL 2016. He took 26 and 23 wickets in both seasons respectively with an economy rate of 7.08.

He was retained by the Sunrisers Hyderabad team for $.17 million for this season.  He is the fourth highest wicket-taker in IPL. He is the competent player who took at least 18 wickets every time since four seasons. He is in a very good form and is expected to make a hat-trick in winning the Purple cap.

  1. Mitchell Starc, Kolkata Knight Riders


This Australian limited overs specialist did great with a constant speed of 90kph. He is in good form in the International formats of all types. He represented RCB in the previous two editions and now he was bought by KKR for a huge $1.8 million.

He played 27 IPL matches and took 34 wickets. He is known for his attacking performance in the power plays.  His Yorkers are an eye feast for the spectators. He is available for the entire tournament regardless of injuries.

Published by Ankit Pandey

Hey There, This is Ankit Pandey, I started in 2010. I am also proud founder of Digital Marketing Firm SeoEaze which is operated under our Company Wisden Infotech. Being a Crazy Cricket lover Since my Childhood, it gives me great pleasure to run a Cricket Website. CricGully Team would love to provide our viewers to get every latest cricket news at earliest.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.