Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Mohammed Shami Included In The Test Squad

Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Mohammed Shami were included in the 18-men test squad for India. Kuldeep Yadav attained this position by performing great in the ODI and T20I series against England. The uncapped player, Rishabh Pant got the first call-up for the national team. India lost the ODI series by losing the deciding game against England at Headingley by 1-2.

Improvements India Need To Clinch The 3rd ODI

Rishabh Pant and Kuldeep Yadav were included in the 18-man squad for the first three tests against England. The first test match begins on 1st August 2018.

Mohammed Shami joined the pace-bowling department for the test series along with Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Shardul Thakur, and Jasprit Bumrah. Bhuvneshwar Kumar is facing some fitness issues and he is expected to join the team at the earliest, says the statement released by BCCI. In addition, Jasprit Bumrah will join the team after the completion of the first test-match against England. Shardul Thakur, the uncapped pacer will replace Bumrah for the first test-match.

Mohammed Shami, the 27-year old pacer was included in the test team after a gap of six months after picking 5/28 against South Africa in the final test match at Johannesburg after clearing the yo-yo test. He failed the yo-yo test earlier before the series against Afghanistan.

Wriddhiman Saha, who was recovering from the thumb injury will be replaced by Dinesh Karthik. Dinesh Karthik was replaced by Saha earlier in the test match against Afghanistan. Dinesh Karthik played a test match eight years ago.

Rishabh Pant will be the keeper-batsman included in the first test match. He played for India A and slammed 67* runs off 71 balls. He was responsible for the series victory against West Indies A. He is responsible for 15 dismissals as a wicket-keeper. This 20-year old player will play the first test match against England at Edgbaston.

He was playing the test match against England Lions and scored 37*off 54 balls when the inclusion of his name in the test match was announced. Karun Nair was included as a middle-order batsman to replace Rohit Sharma. He was included in the squad against Afghanistan but did not get a chance to play the match.

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin were included in the team along with Kuldeep Yadav. Kuldeep Yadav played only two test matches whereas the former duo was the successful spinners for India.  He picked 21 wickets from the tour of England in the series against Ireland and England. Though Ashwin and Jadeja have poor strike rates of 71 and 104 on England, Indian selectors are not ready to make a risky move to eliminate these successful and experienced players from the squad.

Indian squad for the tests

Virat Kohli(captain), Dinesh Karthik(wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Cheteswar Pujara,Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Karun Nair, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, and Shardul Thakur.