Australian T20 league expanded its range wider than ever and the home and away fixtures were exposed by Cricket Australia. More number of teams will participate in the BBL along with a new venue this year.big bash league 2018

The Cricket Australia announced the schedule for BBL along with a newly added venue. The duration of the tournament will be around two months from December 19, 2018, to February 17, 2019.

The matches will take place in the double round robin format and the fixtures will be nearly counted up to 59 including home and away matches. The Metricon Stadium at the Gold Coast will be the new venue for the Big Bash League. This stadium will stage the matches for Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Stars.

Big Bash League Head Mc Connie said that “The objective of moving the BBL to a full home and away fixture is consistent with Cricket Australia’s strategy of growing the Big Bash and becoming number one for fans across Australia,”

“With more games, in more locations, we believe this is going to be one of the most exciting, action-packed BBL seasons to-date. The season will extend past school holidays, so as the competition moves into February, there will be more family-friendly timeslots on weekends to help drive participation.” He added.

In this season, Big Bash League schedule will clash with a test match played by the Australian team for the first time. On that day, cricket Australia will play day 4 of the day-night match against Sri Lanka at Gabba and at the same time, Melbourne Stars will play Brisbane Heat.

Alice Springs and Launceston will be the adopted home grounds for Adelaide Strikers and Hobert Hurricanes respectively.  The aim behind this decision is to ward off geographical and demographical boundaries in cricket.

This year, BBL will have a tripleheader game that includes home games of Perth Scorchers, Sydney Thunder, and Melbourne Renegades on 13th January.

Unlike the previous season, the final match of women’s BBL will be a standalone game. Earlier, this game was a doubleheader along with BBL final match for men.