Indian Squad Looking To Clinch Win From England In Its 1000th Test

India is about to play England in the first test match of five test series to be commenced tomorrow at Edgbaston. India won the test series against England under the leadership of Rahul Dravid in 2007. India lost test series by 4-0, 3-1 in 2011 and 2014 in England under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.  India had the poor record in England with only six wins off 57 games.  The test at Edgbaston is the 1000th team of England.virat-kohli-bcci

England is also in poor form and only one game out of nine tests with Australia, New Zealand, and Pakistan since September 2017. They lost two matches off five test matches against Pakistan and West Indies. Dinesh Karthik was the part of the team when India won the test series and Ishant Sharma played in the squads of 2011 and 2014.

Since 1967, India has a poor record of winning only one of six test matches at Edgbaston. The selectors managed to mend their ways in this tour. They literally regret their decision of selecting Rohit Sharma who was in poor form over Ajinkya Rahane.

Shikhar Dhawan and Cheteswar Pujara’s poor form are a point of worry for the team. On the other hand, KL Rahul, who scored 82 runs in the first innings and 36 runs not out in the second innings may open the game along with Murali Vijay or may play at the no.3 position.

Shikhar Dhawan played only four balls and made two runs in the recent past. In the recent past, Cheteshwar Pujara scored 122 runs off six innings at an average of 14.33 in the county format and scored 35 runs against Afghanistan. He managed to score 1 and 23 in the warm-up match against Essex.

The hosts are highly dependent on pacers and batsmen like Joe Root. The spinners like Ravichandran Ashwin, who had a county experience will be the important target for the hosts to design new strategies.

There may be chances of heavy rainfall on Tuesday and there would be a chill in the air. The ground may support pacers, according to predictions. Kohli may play one spinner along with three pacers. The pitch curator said that there is some moisture beneath the surface of the pitch.

The hosts are heavily dependent on Joe Root. Apart from Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali, the bowling attack may include pacer Jamie Porter. Moeen Ali picked 19 wickets against India in 2014. The selection of Adil Rashid raised many eyebrows in the recent past.

Indian squad

Virat Kohli(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah.

England Squad

Joe Root(captain), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Alistair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, David Malan, Jamie Porter, James Anderson, Sam Curran, and Stuart Board.