West Indies 15-man Squad Announced For Test Against India

West Indies made an announcement about the upcoming tour to India and the squad of 15 players for the test series. India will face West Indies after the completion of Asia cup 2018. India will face West Indies in two test matches on 4th October and 12th October at Rajkot and Hyderabad respectively.

Jason Holder will lead the test side and Miguel Cummins and Davon Smith are out of the side. Smith crossed 36 years and hence he lost the place in the team. Kraig Braithwaite and Kemar Roach who had a great record against India will play the test series. Smith lost his place in the squad since he scored only two fifties out of nine innings and in the rest of the series he made only single-digit scores.

West Indies 15-man Squad Announced For Test Against India

Kraig Braithwaite and Kieron Powell will join the team and Devendra Bishoo and Jomel Warrican will shoulder the spin department. Courtney Brown, the chairman of the selection committee said that The panel congratulates Jason Holder and his team on the excellent performance against Bangladesh. As the team embarks on a tough tour of India the successes against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh should hold them in good stead during the India series.”

Jason Holder had a memorable series against England in 2017 and they won their first test after 2000. They lost the series in 2017 by 2-1 but this boosted the confidence levels of the Caribbean team.

West Indies did not have a good record against India. In 2013, they lost the series against India by 2-0 and the same history repeated in 2016. The 2013 tour will be memorable for Indians by enchanting performances of Sachin Tendulkar. However, the Caribbean players feel that they will register a victory in the leadership of Holder after a long time.

West Indies Squad

Jason Holder, Kemar Roach, Kraig Braithwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jomel Warrican, Sunil Ambrose, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmer Hamilton, Shimron Hetmeyr, Alzari Joseph, Shai Hope, and Keemo Paul.