India vs West Indies Second ODI Preview: Kohli’s Signature Venue A Trouble For Opponents

India will be on the look to win this ODI as well to be in best shape ahead of the Australia tour. West Indies is a team that is having a hard time understanding India’s game. The guests have faced four successive losses and it is not good for their morale.


In the first ODI, West Indies went from 322 to losing their eight wickets with 47 deliveries left to spare. When the team goes against the hosts in Visakhapatnam today, the predicament to deal with Indian bowlers will be a challenge.

After losing the Test series, West Indies was expected to perform in the ODI, but the team was plumped by the men in blue. Batting first West Indies gave a target of 322 to chase boosted with a 78-ball 106 from Shimron Hetmyer. In return, the batting pair of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma put up a 246-run partnership for the second wicket leaving just 80 runs short. Both the batsmen hit a century taking the team for an easy win over opponents.

Skipper Jason Holder seems to be pleased with his team’s batting but he felt there can be an improvement in the second ODI. But stats say something else. At a venue where Kohli has amassed 647 runs in his five international innings, it will not be easy for Jason’s pacers to contain the run-machine. West Indies can get the much-needed help from Shimron Hetmyer and Marlon Samuels’ experience.

The second ODI will be played on October 24 at the ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam starting at 01:30 pm IST.

In the first ODI, Pant did not get a chance to play in his debut match, which he can be seen doing in second ODI. Mohammad Shami conceded 81 runs in the last ODI. For this game, he can be benched for Kuldeep Yadav.

In the first ODI, Oshane Thomas proved to be rather expensive leaking 83 runs in nine overs even after an early wicket. Keemo Paul can be seen taking his place. The offspinner Ashley Nurse can also be dropped from the squad.

Probable XI

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Ambati Rayudu, 5 Rishabh Pant, 6 MS Dhoni (wk), 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Mohammed Shami/Kuldeep Yadav, 9 Umesh Yadav, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Khaleel Ahmed

West Indies: 1 Kieran Powell, 2 Chanderpaul Hemraj, 3 Shai Hope (wk), 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Shimron Hetmyer, 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Jason Holder (capt), 8 Ashley Nurse/Fabian Allen, 9 Keemo Paul, 10 Devendra Bishoo, 11 Kemar Roach