India vs Australia Tests: Hosts Announce Test Squad


Tim Paine will lead the Australian team for the first two tests against India and two uncapped players were included in the squad as well. Marcus Harris and Chris Treiman, the newcomers were included in the 14-man squad from the hosts’ side. The test series will commence from 6th December at Adelaide. The team consists of five specialist pacers and Nathan Lyon is the only spinner for the Kangaroos for the first two test matches.

India vs Australia Tests: Hosts Announce Test Squad

Speaking about the new players, the national selector Trevor Hohns said “Marcus Harris has forced his way into the squad after an impressive start to the Sheffield Shield campaign for Victoria, and in recent times has performed in high-pressure matches, including Sheffield Shield finals. Not only has he made plenty of runs, but he’s also displayed the mental application we believe is required to compete at Test cricket.”

He added, “Chris Tremain has also been performing consistently with the ball for Victoria. His form in the Sheffield Shield has seen him become the second highest wicket-taker in the competition this season. He has also been a consistent wicket-taker over the past two seasons, and thoroughly deserves his place in the squad,”

Josh Hazelwood, Mitchell Starc, and Pat Cummins are the crucial trio of pacers for Australia and they were joined by the new player Chris Treiman and the experienced Peter Siddle.

Though he did poor against Pakistan, Shaun Marsh could secure his position in the squad and Peter Handscomb succeeded to return to the team.  Usman Khwaja is expected to be back into the team by the commencement of the first test. Khwaja is currently down due to a knee injury.

Aaron Finch, who made his test debut against UAE might be included in the squad along with Mitchell Marsh and Travis Head. The team seems weakened by the ball-tampering scandal earlier this year and wants to make up for the loss by the performance against India.

Australian squad

Tim Paine(captain), Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Marcus Harris, Usman Khwaja, Chris Tremain, Peter Siddle, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazelwood, Peter Handscomb, and Shaun Marsh.