India vs South Africa- 2nd ODI Preview

India ‘s blithesome victory against South Africa in 2nd ODI will further add on to the wirra of the Africans along with the distress of losing two of their potential players, one of them being team captain.

India Replaces South Africa At No.1 In ICC ODI Ranking

They lost their skipper cum captain Faf du Plessis with a finger injury right after their triumph over the Indians. He has a fracture in his finger and is advised to rest for 3 weeks. It is a 2-0 down for the Africans, and they will genuinely need to battle against the visitors henceforth.

Behardien will now take over the ODI squad along with batsman Heinrich Klaasen. Recently Klaasen’s performance has been unsatisfactory as he scored only 39 runs in 49 balls. Another virtuoso move for the Proteas will be declaring the captain for the ODI series. Furthermore, Hashim Amla will be on the ground in case of extreme necessities.

Africans plight doesn’t cease here. South Africa’s cricket team will now lose their highest ranking in the ODI series. Indians will need to win by 4-2 in order to surpass the odds and reach the uppermost position.

India has played 11 ODIs on this ground, winning 4 of them. And the most celebrated win was the 2003 ODI World Cup against Pakistan. India has played 5 ODIs against South Africa winning only 2 of those which was in 2001. Thereafter the ODIs with South Africa hasn’t been fortuitous.Such analytical statistics aren’t given any heed by the India players.

The subcontinental type of Centurion pitch was deeply reprehended for its nature during second Test match series because Indian s lost by 135 runs. They are likely to provide some assistance for the spin in Durban in the upcoming years.

Despite the asthenic conditions for the opponents, Virat Kohli is adamant on his decision to play with the same eleven players. Yuzvendra Chahal and  Kuldeep Yadav look forward to another battle trial against South Africa lead to another disarray for the country. Enthusiasts look forward to Sundays ODI day game all the jest. The match will begin at: 1.30 pm according to IST.

The respective teams will be:


  • Virat Kohli (capt),
  • Shikhar Dhawan,
  • Ajinkya Rahane,
  • Shreyas Iyer,
  • Dinesh Karthik,
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • MS Dhoni (wk),
  • Hardik Pandya,
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Kuldeep Yadav,
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Axar Patel
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar,
  • Mohammed Shami,
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Manish Pandey
  • Jasprit Bumrah

South Africa:

  • Hashim Amla,
  • Quinton de Kock (wk),
  • JP Duminy,
  • Imran Tahir,
  • Aiden Markram,
  • Andile Phehlukwayo,
  • Kagiso Rabada,
  • Tabraiz Shamsi,
  • Khayelihle Zondo,
  • Farhaan Behardien,
  • Heinrich Klaasen.
  • David Miller,
  • Morne Morkel,
  • Chris Morris,
  • Lungisani Ngidi,