India Vs New Zealand 1st T20I: Pacers Are In Focus For India


Dinesh Kartik might miss out the first T20I against New Zealand and Rishabh Pant will get another good opportunity to play for the team in the first T20I today at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.  Martin Guptill is out of this series and Jimmy Neesham entered the hosts’ squad.


Virat Kohli will lead the Indian side but is rested for this game. India finished the ODI series with a memorable win and earlier they finished the T20I series with a draw due to interruption to the last T20I because of rain. The black caps finished the series against Sri Lanka with a victory and ended the T20I series against Pakistan in UAE with a whitewash by 3-0.

In the T20I format, New Zealand is a few steps ahead of the visitors by winning six out of eight face to face games. They want to boost up their confidence levels by winning the T20I series and avenge their defeat in the ODI series. Most of the crucial players from the visitors’ side are rested for this series. Rishabh Pant might play for the side at No.3 backed up by MS Dhoni in the middle order.

Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzwendra Chahal might shoulder the spin bowling department and Krunal Pandya is rested for the first T20I. Dinesh Kartik is one of the options for No.3 but he might miss out this game for poor form.

MS Dhoni is in good form and might support the team with his batting besides donning the gloves. In the absence of Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be the crucial pacers for the side. Shubhman Gill might replace Dinesh Kartik for this game since Kartik might get a call from the selectors for the world cup squad.

India probable XI

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Shubhman Gill, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Yuzwendra Chahal, and Siddharth Kaul/Khaleel Ahmed.

Coming to the hosts’ side, Trent Boult will be rested for this series and Tim Seifert will open the game along with Colin Munro in the first T20I. Daryl Mitchell got the chance to play his first T20I and Colin De Grandhomme got a slot in the team after being rested for Sri Lankan series. Doug Bracewell and  Lockie Ferguson will play the first T20I after being out of the team for the final two ODIs against India keeping the upcoming world cup in mind.

New Zealand Probable XI

Kane Williamson(captain), Colin Munro, Tim Siefert,  Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Colin De Grandhomme,  Doug Bracewell, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Mitchell Santner.