New Zealand Crushes India By Record 80 runs In First T20I

India faced a huge blow by 80 runs in the first T20I against New Zealand yesterday.  The hosts registered a whopping score of 219/6 in 20 overs to stay unparalleled and avenge their loss against India in the ODI series.

New Zealand Crushes India By Record 80 runs In First T20I

The Westpac Stadium, Wellington saw the highest score in the T20Is yesterday. Indians won the toss and chose to bowl and it proved to be the biggest mistake committed by the Indian captain Rohit Sharma. The Indians failed to give tough fight though they picked four wickets in the gap of 17 balls when they were batting. Ish Sodhi picked two wickets and Mitchell Santner finished his spell with two wickets in that span and ended their innings at the score of 139 runs in 19.2 overs.

Colin Munro and the new opener Tim Siefert paved strong base by adding 34 from 20 balls and 84 from 43 respectively. Kane Williamson slammed 34 from 22 balls and Ross Taylor added 23 from 14 balls and Scott Kuggeleijin added 20 off 7 balls to hand the team the most anticipated score.

The Indians lost seven wickets for adding 109 runs. The biggest score of the side was by MS Dhoni who slammed 39 runs.

Earlier, Indian bowlers were thrashed by the hosts. Hardik Pandya conceded 51 runs without a wicket and Yuzwendra Chahal was the most economical bowler with 35 runs and picking one scalp. Dinesh Kartik gave life to Ross Taylor and Tim Siefert at the scores of 19 runs and 71 runs but contributed a lot by picking boundary catch of Daryl Mitchell at the score of 8 runs.

Colin Munro slammed two fours and two sixes to add to the opening partnership of 86 runs from 8.2 overs. Siefert slammed seven fours and two sixes. He played stunning innings to trouble the Indian bowlers.

Krunal Pandya succeeded to dismiss Colin Munro and Siefert was picked by Khaleel Ahmed. Only five bowlers are used by Rohit Sharma. Shikhar Dhawan slammed two sixes and a four in the spell of Kuggeleijin. But Ferguson succeeded to dismiss Dhawan. By the end of Powerplay, India is at 53/2. Indians lost two wickets within a span of 13 runs. Pant and Shankar were dismissed by Santner within two balls at the scores of 4 runs and 27 runs respectively and Sodhi dismissed Dinesh Kartik and Krunal Pandya. Dhoni was the ninth man to get dismissed at the score of 39 runs. Tim Southee recorded one of his best figures by picking 3 scalps off 17 runs.