India vs New Zealand Second T20I-Hosts Choose Bat After Winning Toss

New Zealand Captain Kane Williamson won the toss and chose to bat in the second T20I against India today. Both teams come with unchanged squads after the Wellington T20I. Indians are coming up with a strong will to avenge their defeat in the Wellington T20I in the second game at Eden Park, Auckland.

India vs New Zealand Second T20I-Hosts Choose Bat After Winning Toss

In this context, Indian captain Rohit Sharma said that “We were looking to bowl first anyway. I know we lost the last game, but chasing has been our strength. We have spoken about what we need to do with bat and ball. Hopefully, we can get a win today. We just need to do the right things and do them consistently. We discussed what went wrong in the last game. Hopefully, we won’t repeat them.

Kane Williamson said that “Usually a good batting surface here. It’s always a great opportunity to play against India. The guys always look forward to playing against them.”

Earlier, India needed to win the second T20I against Australia to keep hopes alive for the series. Now India landed in the same situation. New Zealand women’s cricket team won the T20I against India by four wickets today. In 2018, New Zealand won just three out of thirteen T20Is. But they have a good record against India.

Though the Indians wanted to do no changes in the squad, there are probabilities of dropping Dinesh Karthik to make way for Vijay Shankar who did not bowl but slammed 27 runs off 18 balls in the first T20I and Khaleel Ahmed or Hardik Pandya might make a place for Siddharth Kaul.

India XI

Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Shubhmann Gill, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya/Siddharth Kaul, and Dinesh Karthik.

New Zealand XI

Kane Williamson(captain), Tim Siefert, Colin Munro, Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Scott Kuggeleijin, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Colin De Grandhomme.