IPL 2019: Schedule For First Two Weeks Announced

The schedule for the first two weeks of IPL 2019 was announced yesterday. There were questions about playing Pakistani players in the league and India taking on Pakistan in the World cup due to the chaotic environment between India and Pakistan. BCCI made it clear that they will schedule the games based on the directions given by the Indian Union Government. Keeping the schedule of general elections in India in mind, the BCCI officially stated the IPL schedule for two weeks so that they can make changes later according to the polling dates.

ipl-2018-auction

Keeping the world cup schedule in consideration, most of the teams are planning to rest crucial players for the second half of the IPL. Earlier, there are many predictions about changing the venue of IPL to UAE or South Africa on account of general elections in India but the BCCI made a statement that the entire tournament will be staged in India.

Apart from the predictions, the inaugural match of IPL 2019 will be played between defending champions Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai on 23rd March 2019.

One of the BCCI officials made a statement  in this context earlier that they will “address any issues with the first two weeks and will also prepare a schedule for the remainder of the season working with the local authorities around the polling dates.”

According to the present schedule, there will be 17 matches between March 23rd to April 5th. The doubleheaders will take place on March 24th, 30th, and 31st respectively. During these two weeks, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore will play five games each and the rest of the teams will play four games each.

Delhi Capitals will play three home games and Royal Challengers Bangalore will play three away games between 23rd March and 5th April. The remaining six teams will play two home games and two away games in this duration.

IPL 2019 schedule (March 23-April 5)

Date Day Time Match Venue
March 23 Saturday Evening CSK vs RCB Chennai
March 24 Sunday Afternoon KKR vs SRH Kolkata
March 24 Sunday Evening MI vs DC Mumbai
March 25 Monday Evening RR vs KXIP Jaipur
March 26 Tuesday Evening DC vs CSK Delhi
March 27 Wednesday Evening KKR vs KXIP Kolkata
March 28 Thursday Evening RCB vs MI Bengaluru
March 29 Friday Evening SRH vs RR Hyderabad
March 30 Saturday Afternoon KXIP vs MI Mohali
March 30 Saturday Evening DC vs KKR Delhi
March 31 Sunday Afternoon SRH vs RCB Hyderabad
March 31 Sunday Evening CSK vs RR Chennai
April 1 Monday Evening KXIP vs DC Mohali
April 2 Tuesday Evening RR vs RCB Jaipur
April 3 Wednesday Evening MI vs CSK Mumbai
April 4 Thursday Evening DC vs SRH Delhi
April 5 Friday Evening RCB vs KKR Bengaluru

*Schedule table source-www.cricbuzz.com