Australia needs to face India in the T20I and ODI series commencing from 24th February. This series is the last one for team India before the world cup 2019. India stood as the superpower after memorable victories against Australia and New Zealand on their home grounds.

india vs australia

Virat Kohli will lead the team for the home series against Australia after the most needed break for the last two ODIs and three T20I series against New Zealand. There are predictions that Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan will be rested in different stages of the series and Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be rested for the first two T20Is.

Due to injury woes, Hardik Pandya is ruled out of the first two matches and Kedar Jadhav or Vijay Shankar will be his replacement.  Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah will shoulder the pace bowling department.

On the other hand, Australians, who are standing in the fifth position in the ICC rankings for T20Is. They won just 8 matches out of 31 ODIs in the recent past. They lost one game out of each of the six head to head competitions against India. They retained players who have the experience to handle the Indian attack like Pat Cummins. Pat Cummins was the second vice-captain for the Australian team for the tour to India along with Alex Carey. Pat Cummins recently bagged the Allan Border gold medal.

Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh are the crucial batsmen and Glenn Maxwell is finding ways to bounce back with this series.

Players to Watch out For

Adam Zampa

He came out of BBL with a glorious record by picking 14 wickets off 13 matches for Melbourne Stars at an economy rate of 6.38. He had a good record in the previous series against India by bowling out KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli by conceding 44 runs from 8 overs. His variant bowling pace in the middle overs is worthy to watch.

Rohit Sharma

He is a fiery batsman known for his back foot shots against Australia. He had a whopping average of 65.85 against Australia. This is higher than his career average of 47.60.

Shaun Marsh

He did not do well in the recent test series against India and was out of Sri Lankan series. His ODI form is very impressive and he slammed 7 centuries off previous 9 ODIs. He wants to continue his exceptional performances on Indian soil.

Rishabh Pant

He had a graceful year in 2018 and got his first national call up for tests after his performances for India A. He slammed centuries against England and Australia and is looking to utilize the chance to shine once again at the fullest since Dinesh Kartik did not get the call up for the ODI series.

Crucial fights

Aaron Finch and Jasprit Bumrah

Aaron Finch is fighting poor form and slammed just 83 runs from previous two ODI series at an average above 13. Jasprit Bumrah entered the team after a long break in the previous series and wants to prove himself once again.

Glenn Maxwell and Yuzwendra Chahal

Glenn Maxwell has the capability to play extraordinary shots in all the angles and has a whopping strike rate above 120. Chahal had the record of dismissing him thrice out of four head to head meetings. Glenn Maxwell has the average above 30 from 20 outings. Chahal wants to tease Maxwell by his own style of leg breaks in this series also.




Virat Kohli(captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Siddharth Kaul, Mayank Markande, and Yuzwendra Chahal

First two ODIS

Virat Kohli(captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzwendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, and Siddharth Kaul.

Rest of three ODIs

Virat Kohli(captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, Ambati Rayudu, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzwendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja,  and Kedar Jadhav.


Aaron Finch(captain),  Pat Cummins, Alex Carey, Shaun Marsh, Nathan-Coulter-Niel, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Jason Behrendoff, Marcus Stionis, Adam Zampa, Usman Khawaja, Ashton Turner, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, and D’Arcy Short.