India will encounter Australia in a three T20I series in India from 24th February after a memorable tour to Australia and New Zealand. India will face Australia in the first T20I on Sunday at Visakhapatnam. Currently, Kohli’s men stand second in the ICC T20I rankings and Australian team stand in the fifth position.  Indians won four out of five T20Is against Australia from 2007. Here is a record of performances of both the teams in shortest form of cricket when they face each other.


2007- India won by 7 wickets

Under MS Dhoni’s captaincy, Indian team won the match without less effort at the Brabourne Stadium. Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat. He scored 76 off 53 balls and he stood as the highest scorer in the match when all the other batsmen failed to score above 25 runs. Their innings ended at 166 runs by losing 5 wickets from 20 overs.  India won the match by Gautam Gambhir’s contribution of 63 off 52 balls,  Robin Uthappa scored 35 runs, and Yuvraj Singh slammed an unbeaten 31 to play their part in the team’s victory. Gautam Gambhir bagged the man of the match title. India chased the target of 167 runs within completion of 11 overs.

2013- India won by 6 wickets

Finch’s men fixed a target of 202 runs by the contribution of Aaron Finch who slammed 89 runs off 55 balls at Rajkot. In that game, Yuvraj stood as man of the match by slamming an unbeaten 77 off just 35 balls. He received calm support from MS Dhoni who scored 24 runs off 21 balls.

2016- India won by 6 wickets

This game led Kohli’s men into the semi finals of ICC T20 World cup 2016. Virat Kohli slammed 82 runs off 51 balls with nine fours and two sixes to hand India a memorable victory. In that game India needed 166 runs to win. Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, and Suresh Raina were dismissed earlier at the team’s score of 49/3. Kohli received support from Yuvraj Singh who scored 21 off 18 balls and MS Dhoni who slammed 18 runs off 10 balls.

2017-India won by nine wickets

In Ranchi, Finch scored 42 runs, the highest among Australians. They ended the innings at 118/8. By Duckworth Lewis method, the target for India to win was truncated to 48 runs. Dhawan slammed 15 runs and Kohli slammed 22 runs to hand India the required score within 6 overs. Kuldeep Yadav picked 2 wickets by conceding 16 runs, Bumrah picked two scalps by giving off 17 runs and Yuzwendra Chahal picked 1/23.

2017- Australia won by eight wickets

Australians leveled the series by the contribution of Jason Behrendoff who picked 4/21 in the second T20I of four T20I series. He dismissed Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Shikhar Dhawan at 0 and picked the scalp of Manish Pandey to draw India into trouble at 27/5. Hardik Pandya and Kedar Jadhav scored 27 runs each to resist the opponents. They finished the innings at the score of 118 runs.

Australia hit 119 runs from 15.3 overs. Though they lost the openers earlier, Moises Henriques slammed unbeaten 62 off 46 runs and Travis Head scored 48*.