Indian Women vs South Africa Women-India Expects Series Win


Indian women cricket team, after standing as runner-up in the ICC world cup, registered a memorable victory against South Africa seven months later. Due to lack of vision, the BCCI did not plan any international series for the women cricket team as a warm-up in this period.indianwomencricketteam

The team led by Mithali Raj should record a good performance in this series to get back on the track.

In the first match, women in blue did well in all the departments never giving any sign of lack of practice.

Team India chose to bat on winning the toss and the left-handed batswoman Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj did a score of 84 off 98 balls and 45 runs respectively. The Indian side’s score was 213 for seven wickets.

The seamer pair Jhulan Goswami took 4 wickets off 24 runs and Shikha Pandey took 3 wickets off 23 runs to wind up the South African side by 125 runs off 43.2 overs.

Spinner Poonam Yadav did great by taking two wickets off 22 runs contributing to the team’s victory in her spell of nine overs.

This victory is the result of the consistent all-around performance of the team. The team is sweating on the nets to continue this vigor to win this series by recording a lead of 2-0.

The South Africans failed to do well with both the bat and the ball and grab the chance to chase the target. Coming to the bowling side, Marizana Kapp took 2 wickets and Ayabonga Khaka took 2 wickets.

The Captain Dane van Niekerk did 41 runs but she did not get enough support from the teammates. Though Laara Woolvardt did 21 runs, SuneLuus did 21 not out and Kapp scored 23 runs but failed to rebuild the innings.

At the end of the innings, the South Africans lost three wickets with 23 runs which led to the team’s collapse. Lizelle Lee(3),  Mignon Du Preez(0), and Trisha Chetty(5) were the tail-enders for this team who ended the innings.

The South Africans had to lose this match due to batting failure but are expected to attack the Indian side to keep their winning chances alive.


India: Mithali Raj(captain), Ekta Bisht, Tania Bhatia(wicket-keeper),Harmanpreet Kaur, Jhulan Goswami, Smriti Mandhana,Mona Meshram, Veda Krishnamurthy, Shikha Pandey,Punam Raut, Jemimah Rodrigues, Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma and Poonam Yadav.

South Africa: Dane vanNiekerk(captain),Trisha Chetty, Marizanne Kapp,Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Sune Luus, Migdon du Preez, Masabaata Klaas, Laura Woolvardt, Chloe Tyron, Lizelle Lee,Zintle Mali, Raisibe Ntozakhe and Andrie Steyn.