Royal Challengers Bangalore had a disastrous defeat against Chennai Super Kings in the opening game of IPL and lost two games against Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad by self-made mistakes. Virat Kohli, the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore said that a defeat is not a scale to measure a team’s potential but they need a win to survive in the tournament. Bangalore team failed to reach the playoffs in the previous IPL season.


Rajasthan Royals need a player like Jos Buttler though he was dismissed for 5 and 6 in the previous games after a cameo of 69 runs in the first game against KXIP. In addition to home advantage, the team is well equipped with quality pacers like Jayadev Unadkat and Dhawal Kulkarni. Rajasthan Royals lost the game with minor margins in all the three occasions and hence they cannot be underrated on their home ground. They are considered as one of the formidable line ups in fact.

The IPL hundred by Sanju Samson and cameos of Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler provide assurance that they cannot be taken for granted. Though Jayadev Unadkat is considered as a crucial pacer, he conceded 44 runs by picking 3 wickets in 3 overs, 26 runs in 3 overs against Mumbai Indians, and gave away 56 runs to MS Dhoni in the previous game.

Varun Aaron is another player to watch out for in this game for Rajasthan Royals.  He has an economy rate of 8.67 in IPL. On the other hand, the team badly needs a good finisher to avoid last-minute disasters.

For Royal Challengers, the team changed three opening combinations but nothing seemed to work out as the X-factor. The franchise might call Marcus Stoinis to open the game for this match. They have the record of winning only 9 games off 31 from previous 3 seasons. Depending on the captain Kohli and one or two outstanding players is the biggest flaw of the team.

Rajasthan Royals

Ajinkya Rahane(captain), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi, Steven Smith, Jayadev Unadkat/Varun Aaron, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gautam, and Shreyas Gopal

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli(captain), Parthiv Patel/Marcus Stoinis, Nathan Coulter Niel/Tim Southee, Shimron Hetmeyr, AB De Villiers, Yuzwendra Chahal, Moeen Ali/Shivam Dubey, Colin De Grandhomme, Prayas Ray Barman, Mohammed Shiraj, and Umesh Yadav