Kings XI Punjab will face Rajasthan Royals today at IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali for their home fixture after winning the game against the latter at Jaipur. Mankading by the captain Ravichandran Ashwin became the talking point in that game. The controversial dismissal of Jos Buttler who slammed 79 runs turned the result of the game and KXIP won the game.


They lost both the games in the recent past and are in the second half of the points table with four wins and four losses. Rajasthan Royals are in the seventh position with six losses and two wins just ahead of Royal Challengers Bangalore.

KL Rahul and Chris Gayle are the highest run-getters for the hosts with 335 and 322 runs respectively. The inclusion of KL Rahul into the world cup squad is another talking point of this game. Mayank Agarwal stands third with three half-centuries from the season. The pacers accounted for only one wicket by conceding 114 runs from 3 overs each in the previous three games. Mujeeb Ur Rahman is the only consistent bowler for the side.

As usual, Jos Buttler is the only batsman who is performing consistently for the visitor’s side. He is one of the Orange cap contenders with just two single-digit scores from eight games. He is the highest scorer for the side as well. Jos Buttler added four half -centuries off seven games from this series. Shreyas Gopal picked 8 wickets and Jofra Archer picked 7 wickets in the previous games for the side. Pacers are the vital strength for Rajasthan Royals. They are very economical bowlers indeed.

Coming to the head to head records, Rajasthan Royals won 10 games and Kings XI Punjab 8 games out of 18 fixtures in the history of IPL. At Mohali, KXIP has 3-1 win-loss record. The hosts are expecting high on the performance of the top order batsmen in this game. Chris Gayle and Steven Smith are fighting head to head with strike rates of 94.22 and 96.22 respectively, in this series.

The skipper of Rajasthan Royals, Ajinkya Rahane won 5 tosses out of 7 games and Ravichandran Ashwin won 3 out of 8 matches in this tournament.

Kings XI Punjab

Ravichandran Ashwin(captain), KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mohammed Shami, Sarfaraaz Khan, Andrew Tye, Murugan Ashwin/David Miller, Sam Curran, Nicholas Pooran/Mandeep Singh.

Rajasthan Royals

Ajinkya Rahane(captain), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes/Ashton Turner, Sanju Samson, Steven Smith, Liam Livingstone, Rahul Tripathi, Shreyas Gopal, Krishnappa Gautam, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jayadev Unadkat/Jofra Archer.