Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore will face each other for the second time in the tournament for a crucial fixture today. The Bangaloreans are in the last position of the points table and the Kolkata Knight Riders are in the sixth position after ten days of reaching the top position. Kolkata Knight Riders lost 4 out of 8 fixtures and Bangalore team won just a solitary game off 8 games.


There are just mathematical equations that can decide the future of Bangalore to make a way for the playoffs. They need to play five games and win all of them to reach the playoffs. Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn are formidable players along with Robin Uthappa and Andre Russell. Andre Russell added 317 runs from 8 games with a strike rate of 213.0 and Chris Lynn slammed 125 runs from four games though he made a poor start in the tournament.

Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, and Sunil Narine picked 14 wickets from 78 overs from the tournament and bowling is the serious issue facing Kolkata Knight Riders same as the Bangalore Royal Challengers. Kolkata Knight Riders slipped to the sixth position after losing three consecutive matches including two home games. Middle order should stay competent to clinch the game and sustain their hopes for the playoffs in this game. The team needs bowlers with X-factor and answer death bowling issues more cautiously in this game.

Coming to the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Ab De Villiers and Virat Kohli are the protagonists. Moeen Ali and Parthiv Patel are performing consistently since the past five games. Yuzwendra Chahal is the bowling spearhead for the side and the team needs a wicket-taking bowler to support him in the death overs though they had limited options. Over dependency on the top order is the biggest flaw for this team.

Talking about head to head fights, Kolkata Knight Riders won 14 matches and Bangalore Royal Challengers won 9 matches out of 23 games in the IPL history.  Since 2017, Kolkata Knight Riders won all the 5 games they played against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli(captain), AB De Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Yuzwendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav/Tim Southee, Mohammed Siraj, Moeen Ali, Pawan Negi, Navdeep Saini, Akshdeep Nath,  and Marcus Stoinis.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Dinesh Karthik(captain), Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Shubhmann Gill, Harry Gurney, and Prasidh Krishna.