Virat Kohli And Men To Face Challenge In Port Elizabeth

To the point, though team India lost the fourth ODI against South Africa, it stood as the favorite in the six ODI series with its all-round performance and teamwork. Records show that team India lost all the four ODIs played in Port Elizabeth. Though the Indians did an arrogant performance in this series, the records of Port Elizabeth are not all-around of them.

india won second odi against south africaPort Elizabeth is notorious of ill-luck to the four Indian captains, Mohammed Azharuddin,  Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Mahendra Singh Dhoni. On the other hand, team India took the lead in the series against Proteas with 3-1.

India has the poor history of not crossing the score of 200 runs in all the four occasions in Port Elizabeth. In 1992, at the St. George Park in their first ODI ever played in Port Elizabeth, team India got bowled out at the score of 147 runs when they won the toss and chose to bat under the leadership of Mohd. Azharuddin and lost the match by 6 wickets.

In 1997, India managed to score 179 off 9 runs when Sachin led the team. Dravid and Azhar scored their fifties in that match but by unbeaten 79 by Kallis, the hosts won the match by chasing their target in 45.1 overs.

Under Sehwag’s leadership in 2006, the Indian line-up winded up at the score of 163 runs failing to chase 243 runs.

In the last occasion, the match was truncated due to rain but the Indians failed to make it out of the chance to improve their record under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. The team lost the match by 48 runs by Duckworth-Louis method. In that match, the men in blue managed to score 142 runs for 6 wickets in 32.5 overs while the hosts set a score of 266 runs. At that time, the South Africans scored 265 runs off 7 wickets in 50 overs.

On the other hand, India wants to win this match and register their first bilateral ODI series victory in the South African soil while the hosts are determined to win the fifth one-dayer against India on Feb 13th, 2018 at Port Elizabeth to escape from a series defeat.