India vs South Africa 5th ODI Match Preview

In the Pink ODI, South Africa put an end to the winning streak for India and kept the series alive. There were many things that went wrong in the fourth ODI that led India to lose the match. Virat Kohli’s decision to keep Yuzvendra Chahal for the death overs instead of Bhuvneshwar Kumar shows his complete disregard of the demands of the situation over form factor.

South-Africa-vs-India-Match-predictionDon’t forget to catch the live score of 5th ODI between India and South Africa here.

Kedar Jadhav is still struggling with this hamstring injury. Although India needs his slow off-spin his presence is still doubtful. His replacement, Shreyas Iyer has not proven economical for India in the fourth ODI. The best course of action for the guests is to bring in either Dinesh Karthik or Manish Pandey of Jadhav could not make it in time. Most importantly, it is Kohli who needs to form a strategy which he evidently overlooks.

Ajinkya Rahane has been batting at no.4 for the team and since the first match, he hasn’t scored much with meager 19 runs in his other two innings. But still, Kohli needs to be patient with him as he is more likely to get into the groove with the old ball. Rohit Sharma on the other end is still struggling to get runs.

Speaking of the Proteas, in the ODIs they go defensive against the spinners that made them lose but in the Pink ODI, they got to know what brand of cricket will give them the edge. Now it will be tough for team India to contain them, especially Aiden Markram.

Port Elizabeth has a history of being a tough ground for the Indian team. In the past, the guests have played 5 ODIs here, all ending with a loss. The highest score of the team on the pitch is 176. On the other hand, South Africa has played 32 matches here of which 20 were won and 11 lost. Evidently, the kangaroos have the experience to play here that India lacks.

Probable Squads:

South Africa: Aiden Markram (c), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Khayelihle Zondo, Farhaan Behardien, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), AB de Villiers.

India: Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Akshar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur.