The inaugural match of Nidahas trophy, the tri-national tournament will be played on March 6th between India and Sri Lanka. This match was preponed for two days. Earlier, this match is scheduled to be held on 8th March.Nidahas TrophyThe Indian and Sri Lankan teams play the curtain raiser match and Bangladesh will be the third nation. All the matches will be played at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. This series was organized to commemorate the 70th Independence day celebrations of Sri Lanka.

The match begins at 7 PM local time. The Bangladeshis play a warm-up match with the host team but Indians will take on the hosts in the curtain raiser without any practice match. The schedule was preponed to facilitate the final match to be conducted on Sunday, said the Sri Lankan cricket officials.

Both the visiting teams will arrive in Colombo on 4th March. This tournament is a seven one-dayer series. The Sri Lankan Cricket association is expected to receive USD 6.5 million as a revenue by selling the broadcasting and telecasting rights. The SLC president Thilanga Sumathipala revealed the news to the press.

Earlier, the Nidahas tournament was played in 1998 to celebrate the Golden Jubilee Independence day celebrations. This tournament was a tri-national series between India, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand. In this tournament, the subcontinental teams reached the finale and in that match, India batted first and scored 307 runs.

Though Aravinda De Silva did 105 runs off 94 balls, the hosts fell to the visitors with a difference of 7 runs.

The BCCI is planning to rest Virat Kohli and Bumrah for this tri-national series as they played all the matches in the South African tour.  Hardik Pandya is the other player who played all the games in this tour along with Kohli and Bumrah. The team India is going to play the third T20I against South Africa on 24th February, the final match for the Indians on this tour. Other than the above changes, there would be no major variations expected in the Indian squad.

Nidahas tournament schedule

  1. March 6, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs India
  2. March 8, 2018 – Bangladesh vs India
  3. March 10, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh
  4. March 12, 2018 – India vs Sri Lanka
  5. March 14, 2018 – India vs Bangladesh
  6. March 16, 2018 – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
  7. March 18, 2018 – Final

All the seven matches will be played at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo at 7 pm local time tentatively.


Published by Deeksha Gogia

Hello, This is Deeksha & I am Author here at Cricgully. I will be covering Indian Cricket Team News & Updates.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.