MS Dhoni startled fans and cricket fraternity alike when he announced his international cricket retirement with immediate effect. Putting up a heartfelt Instagram post, the former Indian captain informed everyone about his decision and a video of his memories with the Indian Cricket team.dhoni-kohli

He captioned the video as, “Thanks a lot for ur love and support throughout. From 1929 hrs consider me as Retired.”

Initially, people were taken aback by this sudden announcement as his retirement. Still, as the events moved on, Dhoni’s wife Sakshi Singh Rawat’s comment on the post started making sense of the decision.

In cricket, the former Indian skipper was last seen in action during the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup, where the Indian side stumbled at the penultimate stage against New Zealand.

In the game, we saw Dhoni pairing up with Ravindra Jadeja to try to script a historic comeback when the Kiwis throttled the Indian batting order early in the game. However, despite Dhoni making a nifty fifty, he was run out in the 49th over Martin Guptill’s delivery.

It was a heavy blow for MS Dhoni, and he was seen holding back his tears, and since then, he did not participate in any series that followed.

MS Dhoni is the only Indian captain to have won all three ICC trophies.

Post his retirement, the loveable former Indian captain will go down in history as the only skipper to have won the ICC Cricket World Cup (2011), ICC World T20 (2007), and the ICC Champions Trophy (2013).

His additional achievements include taking the Indian side to the top of the ICC Test Rankings and got the nation an unprecedented Commonwealth Bank Series tri-series triumph in 2008.

MS Dhoni also has impressive batting record. He has scored 10773 runs across 350 ODIs at an average of 50.57. In 90 Tests, he has credited 4876 runs at an average of 38.09 and 1617 runs in 98 T20Is.

His announcement of retirement brings his upcoming participation in the IPL 2020 a major focus of interest. He will be leading the Chennai Super Kings as the franchisee fight to bring home 4th IPL crown and equal Mumbai Indians’ tally.