As the date for Nidahas Trophy is closing in, teams are announcing the changes and the squads. In the latest revelation, Bangladesh named the West Indies fast bowling veteran Courtney Walsh as their interim coach in light of the tri-nation T20I series against India and Sri Lanka. Ever since Chandika Hathurusingha, the head coach of Bangladesh has resigned in October last year, the team has been without a coach.

Shakib Al HasanChandika Hathurusingha was the head coach for Bangladesh for the last 3 years but joined his struggling home team in October 2017. After Bangladesh lost the ODI and T20 series against Sri Lanka, the former skipper Khaled Mahmud joined as the team director to fill the void. Speaking on the appointment of head coach Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hassan told, “Walsh has vast experience and everyone respects him as well.”

Bangladesh has named the sixteen member squad for the tri-nation T20 Nidahas Trophy that will begin on March 6, with Sri Lanka and India.

The Bangladesh squad for Nidahas Trophy includes-

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah Riyad (vc), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Imrul Kayes, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Nazmul Islam, Nurul Hasan, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan.

The all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, despite his finger injury is included in the team while the off-spinner Mehedi Hasan is named in the team as the backup. Mehendi quoted that Shakib will be bowling but not bat. He said, “His finger was swollen. So we can’t take any risk with Shakib.”

Bangladesh cricket board asked Fast bowler Mashrafe Mortaza to emerge from his T20I retirement to participate in the tournament but he refused the request. In total there are 5 changes made to the squad. Pacer Taskin Ahmed, wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan and opener Imrul Kayes are included in the team along with skipper Shakib and Mehedi. Players who were dropped include Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Mithun, Zakir Hasan and Afif Hossain.

Published by Deeksha Gogia

Hello, This is Deeksha & I am Author here at Cricgully. I will be covering Indian Cricket Team News & Updates.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.