The Sri Lankan wicket-keeper Dickwella was dropped out for the Nidahas trophy. Kushal Perera is expected to replace him. The Sri Lankan selection committee yesterday announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming series that included Chandimal and Chameera.

dickwellaDinesh Chandimal will lead the team as he steps into the shoes of Angelo Mathews. The pacer Suranga Lakmal was named as the Vice-captain for this trophy. Earlier, Lahiru Kumara, Jeffrey Vandersay,  Asitha Fernando and Sadeera Samarawickrama were ruled out from the 20-man squad for this tournament.

Dickwella has been the Wicket-keeper for the Sri Lankan team for some time. He did well with back-to-back centuries in the series against Zimbabwe but did poorly in the limited over series with only a single half-century in the previous 17 innings he played. He scored only 39 runs in three matches against India. He did only 11 runs in a match against Bangladesh before he was sacked out of the team for the second game.

Some of the significant players in this series are the all-rounder Dhanunjaya De Silva, pacers Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera. De Silva played his last T20I in January 2017. Dickwella, Jeffrey Vandersay, and Madhushanka were replaced by the above trio. Dickwella, Madhushanka, and Vandersay were the pillars of the team responsible for the win against Bangladesh by 2-0.

Sri Lankan Squad

Dinesh Chandimal(captain),Upul Tharanga, Kushal Perera(wicket-keeper),  Kusal Mendis, Dansuhka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Jeevan mendis, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Dhananjaya De Silva, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmanth Chameera, Amila Aponso

Published by Priyanka Gogia

Hello, This is Priyanka Gogia, I am Chief Editor at Wisden Infotech & a cricket lover of-course.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.