Chris Gayle is one of the prominent players that took IPL standards to the heights. This 39-year old Jamaican player is at the edge of his retirement.  He is popular as an arrogant opener and holds the records of highest score and the fastest century in the IPL off 30 balls. His 175 runs off 66 balls made him the IPL legend.

Let us have a look at some of the star players who have the opportunity to surpass his records.

  1. D’Arcy Short

darchy shortHe is a good hitter and was the top scorer in the Big Bash League for Hobart Hurricanes. He is proficient in hitting long sixes.  He is about to play for Chennai Super Kings and hit 44 sixes off 25 matches. He scored 966 runs off 25 matches at a strike rate of 150.70. His highest score in the T20 career is 122*.

  1. Chris Lynn

Chris Lynn KKRThis Australian player is expected to represent the Kolkata Knight Riders franchise for IPL 2018. He is known for his arrogant batting style. He suffered a lot of injuries since 2011 but managed to bounce back to become the highest scorer at the need of the hour. He scored 2890 runs off 96 innings with a strike rate of 148.35 and his highest score is 101.

  1. Colin Munro

colin munroThis batsman is anticipated to replace New Zealand cricketer Brendan Mc Cullum. He is one of the match-winners in the limited over format. This 30-year old player is one of the dangerous strikers who can turn the mistimed shots into boundaries.  He made 3712 runs off 142 T20 innings at a strike rate of 148.89 and his highest score being 109*.

  1. Evin Lewis

evin lewisThis left-handed opener can be called as the batting twin to Chris Gayle. This Caribbean player has the opportunity to boss the IPL 2018. This 26-year old cricketer is fortunate to share the crease as an opener with Chris Gayle. He is a good hitter and one of his best performances being 97 runs off 32 balls. He scored 2657 runs off 82 innings at the strike rate of 146.06. his best score of T20 career is 125*.

Published by Deeksha Gogia

Hello, This is Deeksha & I am Author here at Cricgully. I will be covering Indian Cricket Team News & Updates.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.