Nidahas Trophy 2018-Indian vs. Sri Lanka Match 1 Preview

The Nidahas tournament is scheduled to be contested between India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The opening game is to be played today at Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. This seven T20I series is to be conducted from March 6th to March 18th. This is the first ever T20I Nidahas tournament. This tournament is to be held to celebrate the 70th Independence Day celebrations of Sri Lanka.Nidahas Trophy 2018-Indian vs. Sri Lanka Match 1 Preview Catch the Live Score of Nidahas Tournament Match 1 Between Indian and Sri Lanka here.

Earlier, this tournament was conducted as ODI tri-series in 1998 to commemorate 50th Independence day celebrations of Sri Lanka. That series was played between Sri Lanka, India, and New Zealand.

This Nidahas tournament will be played without three regular captains of three teams, Virat Kohli, Shakib Al Hasan and Angelo Mathews respectively. Virat Kohli was rested for this series and the two other captains were out of the game due to injury woes.

This first game will be a test for the young Turks under the captainship of Rohit Sharma. India is about to challenge Sri Lanka with new faces like Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj and Vijay Shankar. Shikhar Dhawan is named as vice-captain for the Indian team.

Experienced players like KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, and Suresh Raina are expected to shoulder the batting department. Return of Raina is an advantage for the Indian middle-order. Pacers Shardul Thakur and Jaydev Unadkat will share the load of pace bowling department and Yuzwendra Chahal will be one of the wrist-spinners in addition to Axar Patel who can benefit from the slow pitches of Sri Lanka.

Dinesh Karthik will be the strength of the middle-order at no.4 along with his wicket-keeping experience. If the team wants to accommodate debutants, Mohammed Siraj will be one of the pacers and Deepak Hooda and Washington Sundar can be included among the all-rounders.

Coming to the host’s side, Sri Lanka is about to head for the game without star-players like captain Angelo Mathews and Dickwella. Asela Gunaratne and Shehan Madhushanka are also missing out this series due to injuries. But the team is elated to see the return of Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep and Jeewan Mendis with a good form along with solid players like Lakmal and Thisara Perera. The team is heading towards the series under the leadership of Dinesh Chandimal.

Team India

Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Dinesh Karthik(wicket-keeper), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Washington Sundar, Yuzwendra Chahal, Suresh Raina, Deepak Hooda, Jaydev Unadkat, and Shardul Thakur.

Sri Lanka

Dinesh Chandimal( Captain), Suranga Lakmal(vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Kusal Perera(wicket-keeper), Kusal Mendis, Jeewan Mendis, Dasun Shenaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Akila Dhananjaya, Danushka GunaThilaka and Dushmantha Chameera.