Nidahas Trophy 2018-India Defeats Bangladesh By 6 Wickets

Indian team successfully bounced back after a crushing defeat in the curtain-raiser match against Sri Lanka in the Nidahas tournament 2018.India Defeats Bangladesh By 6 WicketsTeam India won the toss and elected to bat. The Bangladesh team lost Tamim and Soumya Sarkar in the first six overs. After the power play, the Indians managed to pick wickets at regular gaps to restrict the opponents. Sabbir Rahman(30) and Liton Das(34) made some remarkable contribution.

The Indian pacers Jayadev Unadkat(3/38) and Washington Sundar(2/32) seemed expensive but took crucial players. The spin duo Chahal and Washington Sundar bowled economically. Chahal took one wicket off 19 runs.

Though the Indians managed to restrict the opponents to 139/8 after 20 overs, they did poorly in the field and missed nearly 5 catches.

The skipper Rohit Sharma entered the crease as the opener along with Shikhar Dhawan and departed at the score of 17 runs. Dhawan kept on his good form and made 55 runs and got the stand form Suresh Raina(28) and Manish Pandey(27*). Rishabh Pant came at No.3 but could not make the best of his opportunity and got dismissed at the score of 7 runs.

India stood first in the points table after their win in the 2nd T20I of the Nidahas tournament.

Here are the statistics of the game.

1-Dhawan scored two consecutive half-centuries in the T20Is for the first time. This was his 6th consecutive fifty in the T20Is.

1-Bangladesh registered their only victory since 13 T20Is. That victory came against Sri Lanka in April 2017

2- Vijay Shankar has won the man of the match award in his second T20I.

4- Dhawan scored four 50+scores in the consecutive 8 innings.

6- India won its sixth consecutive T20I against Bangladesh

8.86- This is the second best run rate in T20Is in the world. Bangladesh stood next to Australia by these figures.

12.67 – the average of Rohit Sharma in consecutive T20S.

15- Number of extras given by Indian bowlers to Bangladesh

38- Number of runs given by Jayadev Unadkat. The highest runs conceded by an Indian bowler against Bangladesh

49- Bangladesh lost 49 T20IS along with New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

50- The number of sixes scored by Suresh Raina. He is the third man to stand on the list of Yuvraj Singh(74) and Rohit Sharma(69).

57.60- Shikhar Dhawan’s average in five T20s in 2018. He scored 288 runs with a strike rate of 155.67.

India has not lost two consecutive T20Is since June 2016.  Out of 21 matches, they lost two T20Is in a row against West Indies and then Zimbabwe.