Rohit Sharma, the stand-in captain of team India for the Nidahas tri-national tournament is in poor form since the tour to South Africa. He was named as the captain for Nidahas tournament and the regular captain Kohli was rested for this series.  Rohit may choose to come in No.4 making a way to KL Rahul to open the game for India.Nidahas Trophy 2018-Indian vs. Sri Lanka Match 1 PreviewRohit is facing constant criticism for his poor performance in the social media. On the other hand, his deputy Dhawan retained his form back and made three fifties in five T20Is and made a good stand for a decent score for the team. Shikhar Dhawan scored 55,90,47,24 and 72 in his previous five T20Is.

Coming to the middle order, the comeback of Suresh Raina and Manish Pandey seems a positive sign and Dinesh Karthik is doing well behind the stumps beside consistent batting. But he did not get a chance to perform with the bat in the previous two T20Is.Manish Pandey tried to make a good partnership with Dhawan in the past two matches by scoring 37 and 27. Rishabh Pant did not make the best of the opportunity to play for the country and was expected to make the place for KL Rahul.

Coming to the bowling department, though the players lack experience, they made a decent performance. Jayadev Unadkat needs to be less expensive though he picked 2 wickets in each of the two previous matches. Other than Yuzwendra Chahal, the new players Washington Sundar and Vijay Shankar are making the most of the opportunity to play on the international grounds.

Coming to Sri Lankans, they were shocked by the startling 35 ball 72 by Mushafiqur Rahman in the third T20I on Saturday. The Bangladeshis registered a red-lettered victory by chasing 215 runs against Sri Lanka. The host team will be led by Thisara Perera on account of two-match ban on Chandimal. This is the best highest chase in the T20Is by Bangladesh and the fourth highest chase worldwide.

The Pereras, Kusal and Thisara and Jeewan Mendis are main weapons of the Sri Lankan side. Both the Kusals, Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis are in the best of the form.

Team compositions:


Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Karthik(wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Jaydev Unadkat, Washington Sundar, Vijay Shankar, Akshar Patel, KL Rahul, Deepak Hooda, Yuzwendra Chahal, Shardul Thakur and Rishabh Pant(wicket-keeper)

Sri Lanka

Thisara Perera(captain), Kusal Mendis, Jeewan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Upul Tharanga, Dasun Shenaka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dhanunjaya DeSilva, Isuru Udana, Amila Aponso, and Akila Dananjaya.

Published by Deeksha Gogia

Hello, This is Deeksha & I am Author here at Cricgully. I will be covering Indian Cricket Team News & Updates.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.