Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik made the stand to cruise India towards the win in 4th T20I against Sri Lanka in the Nidahas trophy, 2018. This duo added 68 runs to the fifth-wicket partnership.Nidahas Trophy 2018-India Beats Sri Lanka By 6 Wickets In 4th T20IIndia registered the second victory in the Nidahas tournament. The team took revenge on the hosts for their defeat in the curtain raiser match. The Indians succeeded in restricting the hosts to 152 runs in 20 overs. India stood top in the points table with 4 points off 3 games.

India made a poor start and lost Rohit Sharma. The early dismissal of Rohit Sharma became an unwritten convention in this series. Shikhar Dhawan followed his partner and fell for Akila Dhananjaya at the score of 8 runs off 10 balls.

The middle order batsmen KL Rahul and Suresh Raina slowly made the innings steady and added runs to the scoreboard at a consistent pace. Raina played in his arrogant style to score 27 runs with 2 fours and 2 sixes and leveled MS Dhoni’s record of 1,444 runs in T20Is. Raina fell to a simple catch to Thisara Perera in the spell of Nuwan Pradeep.

Though KL Rahul made a slow and steady start, unfortunately, he became the first Indian to be dismissed hit-wicket in the T20Is. Jeevan Mendis who dismissed Rahul later went out of the game due to an injury. Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik made the victory of India much easy with their steady stand of 68 runs.

Sri Lanka batted first and scored 152 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. Kusal Mendis’s 55 runs off 38 balls is the highest score for the side. He scored three fours and three sixes. Shardul Thakur picked four wickets and Washington Sundar took two precious wickets for the Indian side.

Match summary:

India won the match by 6 wickets.

Sri Lanka scored 152/9 in 20 overs

Upul Tharanga 22, Kusal Mendis 55 and Shanaka 19 runs

Shardul Thakur 4/27, Washington Sundar 2/22

India scored 153/4

Manish Pandey  42*, Dinesh karthik 39*

Akila Dananjaya 2/19

Published by Rahul Mourya

Rahul is an avid sports lover but his passion lies in Cricket. He covers latest of cricket leagues and tournaments for the website.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.