India set its focus on winning the fifth T20I against Bangladesh and gain a spot for the final match of the Nidahas Tournament 2018. The match is to be held at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. India has the record of not losing single T20I against Bangladesh with 6-0.  India is all set to keep up this record.Nidahas Trophy 2018-Bangladesh Want To Maintain Winning Streak, India Eye Final BerthIndia is about to face the side that set a record by beating the fourth highest score in the T20Is. Bangladesh won the third T20I against Sri Lanka by chasing 215 runs. This is the highest score chased by an Asian country in the T20Is. Shakib Al Hasan, Mushafiqur Rahim, and Tamim Iqbal celebrated the win.

Bangladesh is moving ahead with a certain plan of action. They promoted Liton Das against Akila Dananjaya in the match against Sri Lanka. The stand-in captain Mahammadullah said that they are working to create brand Bangladesh T20I cricket. Speaking to the reporters, he said “I think the skills are there. We need to be smart to take that calculated risk,”

“Taking on a particular bowler who we think can be targeted, this sort of things we need to apply when we are playing. These things will give us that Bangladesh brand of T20 cricket.”

To encounter favorites of the tournament, India, the Bangladeshi team has to work hard with both the bat and the ball. Mustafizur Rahman attacked India with his power-packed performance. But Tasken’s form is worrying the team. He may lose the place to Abu Jayed. Nazimul Islam and Mehedi Hasan have to do well making up to the absence of Shakib Al Hasan.

Coming to the men in blue, Rohit Sharma thrashed Sri Lankan bowling attack in the previous series but he lost the grip since the series against South Africa. His poor form is being covered by Shikhar Dhawan’s potential. He may opt to bat in the middle order making a place for KL Rahul. The middle order seems strong with Suresh Raina, Washington Sundar, Manish Pandey and Dinesh Kartik. Rohit Sharma is about to play in the middle order for Mumbai Indians. Vijay Shankar and Washington Sundar are expected to keep up their consistent performance as all-rounders.

In the absence of regular pacers like Bumrah and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, the pacers seem expensive though they succeeded in picking up a few wickets. Yuzwendra Chahal succeeded in restricting the scores of opponents by his miserly economy.

Speaking about this, Shardul Thakur said “If other senior bowlers are missing from the team, then I have to step up. I have done this previously for other teams that I have played for. I have come in place of Zaheer Khan, Dhawal Kulkarni, and Ajit Agarkar while playing for Mumbai (in Ranji Trophy). I had to step up in that role. When senior bowlers are rested, I have to step up and fill that role to lead the pace attack,” after he took four wickets against Sri Lanka in the 4th T20I.



Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Washington Sundar, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar, Yuzwendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Shardul Thakur,  and Jayadev Unadkat.


Mahammadullah(captain), Abu Jayed, Mushafiqur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman,Mehdi Hasan, Rubel Hossain and Nazmul Islam.

Coming to the pitch report, the weather report predicts rain. We can expect a batting friendly pitch. There are prophecies about a thunderstorm.

Published by Deeksha Gogia

Hello, This is Deeksha & I am Author here at Cricgully. I will be covering Indian Cricket Team News & Updates.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.