IPL 2018 Team Breakdown-Kolkata Knight Riders Squad

The Kolkata Knight Riders is one of the formidable teams of Indian Premier League. The KKR was the champion of IPL twice. The current team has the least number of 19 squad members. Some of the attractions of the team are Chris Lynn, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Kuldeep Yadav, Andre Russel. The team looks quite fragile due to injury stories of Chris Lynn and Andre Russel. Gautam Gambhir, who led the team towards title victory returned to his home team Delhi DareDevils. So, Dinesh Karthik who has a good captaincy experience was named as the skipper.IPL 2018 Team Breakdown-Kolkata Knight Riders SquadChris Lynn and Andre Russel have fewer chances to play for the team due to injuries. The franchise is looking to replace them. The team bought U-19     star players like Shubhman Gill, Kamlesh Nagakoti, and Shivam Mawi.  The crucial players of the team in the previous editions went to other franchises for the current edition. Including Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shivam Mawi, Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Johnson strengthen the bowling department. Dinesh Karthik and Nitish Rana may play in the middle order.

Squad: Dinesh Karthik, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Nitish Rana, Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Yadav, Mitchell Johnson, Shivam Mawi, Shubhman Gill, Piyush Chawla, Ishank Jaggi, Sunil Narine, Cameron Delport, Apporv Wankhade,  Javon Searles, Rinku Singh and Vinay Kumar


The Kolkata Knight Riders has a strong bowling department. The veteran cricketer Sunil Narine is a main weapon in the spin bowling department since years. Kuldeep Yadav will be the additional spearhead in this context. Mitchell Starc, who took 34 wickets out of 27 IPL matches will be the main player in the pace bowling department.

Though Mitchell Johnson is very expensive, he is capable of picking a good number of wickets. Vinay Kumar, Shivam Mawi, and Kamlesh Nagarkoti are in good form who can shoulder the pace bowling department. Sunil Narine took 95 wickets from 82 IPL matches.


Though Chris Lynn and Andre Russell are doubtful about playing the series, Robin Uthappa and Shubhman Gill can be entrusted with opening the game. Chris Lynn scored 295 runs off 7 IPL matches. He is the point of pride for the team. Shubhman Gill scored 245 runs in 2 first-class matches. Robin Uthappa is one of the crucial batsmen of the franchise who scored 388 runs in 14 matches of IPL 2017.

Dinesh Karthik, who can act as a wicketkeeper helps to make a strong stand in the middle order. He scored 2903 runs in 152 IPL matches. Nitish Rana scored 437 runs in 17 IPL matches. He is one of the reliable players in the team without Manish Pandey.

All- Rounders

Cameron Delport, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, and Piyush Chawla are the crucial all-rounders for the franchise if Andre Russell misses out the series. Delport has an astonishing T20I record with 3224 runs and 48 wickets off 139 T20Is. Delport may not play for the team owing to the constraints on the number of overseas players in a team.

Kamlesh Nagarkoti scored 120 runs and picked 9 wickets from 8 Ranji matches. Piyush Chawla is a good hitter besides a leg spinner. Andre Russell scored 574 runs and picked 31 wickets from 34 IPL matches.